Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious, and easy enough for a college student to make! ;) It's a good idea to brown the meatballs in a pan and drain the excess oil/fat before adding to the soup, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katya121

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is amazing! I do have to admit that I've never had wedding soup before, but if this is it, then i love it! I used a whole bag of frozen chopped spinach because we love spinach, and I browned the meatballs just because, but that's all I did differently. I was surprised that a soup with so little seasoning had so much flavor! I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BRENDA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
it came out absolutely amazing. I posted a pic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Easy and delicious! But, I sub the beef with ground turkey..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Merrimac, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Outstanding. My 14 year old son requests this on a regular basis! Everyone loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We thought this was great! I did brown the meatballs a bit before adding to the soup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Every year the closest weekend to April 1st a group of us hikers get together and rent an AMC hut for the night. I cook for 50 people, both dinner and breakfast, as well as supply soup to day hikers who happen by. This year I made the Italian Wedding soup. I always use whatever recipe is rated the highest then add my own secret ingredients to the recipe. In this case I added equal amounts of hot Italian sausage to the ground beef and when I added the eggs I also added a generous amount of Gray Poupon Country Dijon mustard to the mix. I found that the Gray Poupon gives it a nice kick, though not overpowering. I also add some garlic pepper/power to the meat before I make the small meatballs. Since I am hauling in all this food into the backcountry, I used broth paste and not canned liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Extremely easy to make. great last minute meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef jacquie
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Very good and simple. Tip: if you like a saltier soup don't use sodium free chicken broth. Or ensure you add salt. Also good with ground turkey meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Super recipe! I made it as written except with gluten-free (brown rice) noodles and breadcrumbs as I don't eat wheat. I would recommend adding Italian spice instead of plain basil as well as salt and pepper, as it was a bit bland until I added those. Also I added 2 extra cups of broth because the noodles soaked up a lot of the liquid. I might even add more next time as it is still pretty thick. I may also strain some of the fat too next time, as it was a bit oily from the meat. Overall an excellent and hearty soup I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States