Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I tweaked the recipe... In a hot soup pot w/ EVOO add the chopped carrors, 1 cup sliced thin celery and 1 cup of chopped onion. Saute for about 10 min... I did 2 boxes of 48 oz chicken stock. Make the meatballs according to the directions. We made them the 3/4 in size, but they can go a little smaller. Bring the soup to boil and then add meatballs and simmer for about 15 min ... Add Spinach - start another boil and then simmer for 10 min.... As for the pasta I cook it by itself and not in the soup. I used about 2 cups of dry small shells -- 1 1/2 cups would have been better. After the 10 min cooking of the spinach turn the pot off and add the cooked pasta. Serve w/ grated Parmesan cheese.... Oh, use the fresh or wedge of Parmesan ... Grate really fine for the meatballs and more chunky when serving the soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bruzebra
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I've had this before from a can, but never made it. It's way tastier home made for sure, and not that time consuming using the "rope" method mentioned here for making the meatballs. Followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have seashell pasta so I used up some bow ties I had. Thought it could have had a little more spice, will try some garlic as suggested next time. Will serve this again. Don't forget to sprinkle Parmesan to your liking on top when it's in the bowl, i used grated and it melted all nice and stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
LOVED IT!!!! I added mushroom slices and 2 extra cups of spinash. Also we used sodium free chicken broth (trying to watch that salt). Kinda made this at the last min and didn't have any ground meat in the house but I did have sweat Italian sausage in the freezer. I took them out of their casing and rolled them into little balls. We also used Bow ties instead of shells for the pasta. We made a big pot to last all week and it was gone in two days!!! I will totally be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This soup is really very good, I will be adding this into my dinner rotation for sure! I took the suggestion of a few reviewers and browned the meatballs in a pan just to try it, and it was good. Next time I will try as written, to just throw them in the broth to cook for comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Love this! have made it twice now, the homemade meatballs, while seriously labor intensive - are well worth it! I browned them in a frying pan first with a bit of oil, drained on paper towels and tossed them into the soup later. sooo good with some crusty bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
First time making soup and this was a wonderful recipe! Soup was delicious and my children gobbled it down! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Loved the recipe but I made the meatballs with 1/2 lb ground turkey and 1/2 lb sweet sausage. Sausage made the soup so savory that I will never go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
add 11/4 ditalini pasta and added garlic powder to meatball mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Yummy! Did add garlic powder as some reviews suggested. I also read another review that cooked the pasta, then added it to dish to keep it from absorbing all the broth, which I will do next time since I like my broth! Either way this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
My husband absolutely loved it.I used one can of chicken broth, added a can of water and 1 packet Lipton golden onion soup mix (sifted out the onions) instead of the 2 cans of broth. I also made my normal meatball mixture with ground beef and ground pork and fried them in olive oil then added them to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States