Mama's Hearty Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. The soup was thick enough to be considered a stew. I replaced the pasta with kidney beans to add fiber and protein without the pasta carbs. I also used whole stewed tomatoes and ran them through the vitamix to make them a tad smoother. I'm the only one who likes chunky tomato texture. I used organic, grass-fed beef, and it was still an awesome deal to feed four people. We had some left over for lunch the next day. It was really, really great. I plan on using the base as a stew for whatever I've got in the fridge. It would be great as a chicken vegetable or vegetarian stew. I really love that it's so easy to make. Thanks so much, Jessipeer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Very Good. I used Louisiana hot links , not ground beef, this made it even easier, no draining the beef. Zucchini and carrots, one can of baby white beans, out of basil, so I added about 1/4 tsp. of ground cumin and lots of oregano. Great go to soup. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
this was really good. i wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Wow...this was great! Only change was chicken Parmesan sausage because we're cutting back on beef. Also added.kidney beans. Oh...I also added some back olives because I put them in almost everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made it vegetarian. Left out the meat and added a can of white kidney beans. I also used veg broth to replace the chicken broth. And it was still very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by c3veggies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was very good. I used green beans, carrots, and zucchini. Would definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excelent. I added corn and green beans, left out the broccoli. I doubled the pasta also. As the cook said, options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Yum! Easy, quick soup with great flavor. Tastes just as good the second day. Even my husband who is picky about most veggies liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States