Mama's Dormant Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I seasoned the flour with a few spices (onion powder, garlic powder, seasoning salt, fresh ground pepper) before coating the chicken with it. I also sauteed half of a sliced onion in with the garlic and when I made the gravy, I added a good amount of fresh ground pepper. I served this with steamed brown rice and roasted vegetables. Serving it with the rice gave us an outlet to soak up all that tasty gravy. The gravy reminded me of the sauce for stroganoff. NO leftovers. Husband says next time I make this to double it so he has extra for his lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Love Love Love it!! Nice tang from the mustard. My only thing would be I would add mushrooms next time! Dee Lish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was only so-so and I doubt that I'll ever make it again. Just didn't wow us, but it was fine to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was pretty good-the chicken was very tender after simmering for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
The sauce from this recipe is quite similar to that of the great Chicken Dijon recipe at Julio's, a great chain of Mexican restaurants in Omaha, Nebraska. I served this with Lemon Green Beans with Walnuts, another allrecipes recipe, which was an awesome side dish. Next time, I will whip up some rice to go with the beans and chicken, which is how it's served at Julio's. If you trend towards being a picky eater--fussy about something that taste a little exotic or different, maybe this isn't for you; but for everyone else, you can't go wrong! This will be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I thought that this chicken was good but I made some changes to the recipe. I added a tsp of Paula Deen's seasoning salt recipe to the flour (it is 1 cup salt, 1/4 cup garlic powder, 1/4 cup black pepper - keep it in a ziplock bag I use it all the time) which imparted more flavor to the chicken itself. I added a can of sliced mushrooms which complemented the chicken. I also cut back the dijon mustard to two spoonfuls, which was plenty for my tastes. I found this to be pleasantly salty, which comes from someone that hates anything to be too salty. If you're afraid everything will taste too salty I would limit the amount of parmesan cheese, but do use some because it added an added something compared to other dijon cream sauce dishes I have prepared. The whole thing was very easy, and used a lot of ingredients I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Just OK. My wife thought it was way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
There was NOTHING wrong with this recipe but it wasn't just exciting enough for us, others may feel different so give it a try, remember that tastes vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Really good. My husband is not a fan of mustard--but even he loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States