Mama's Cornbread and Sausage Turkey Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
The Best! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
We have updated this recipe to list "4 (6.5 ounce) packages dry corn bread mix" instead of "4 (16 ounce) packages dry corn bread mix." We hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
The recipe MUST be wrong. Four 16-oz boxes of cornbread is Waaaayyyy too much. I made it with four 8-oz boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix and that was just right! Delicious, with flavors I remember from childhood. Unfortunately, that recipe died with the family matriarch. THis one is a fine substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
My whole family loves this dressing but this recipe feeds way more than 12. I had 14 guests for Thanksgiving and we had tons left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB Baby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This might have been one of the best stuffing recipes that I have ever had! Everyone seemed to love it! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This was my 1st attempt @ cornbread dressing also. I used 2 packages of cornbread mix & it was just enough. The cook time of dressing took almost 2hrs. The cook time on recipe is totally "wrong"! 30 mins doesn't even brown the dressing. My end result was excellent, but will decrease the amount of spices on next try, because it was little to salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
This time I did follow the recipe exactly-- with the exception--that I "halved the recipe." I choose this because I wanted an Excellent cornbread tasting dressing. That is not what the end result was!! After a lot of time and hard work--my end result was mushy, bland and not what I was expecting. Unfortunately, my husband, children, and guest did not care for this. Yes, we did eat some--because of all the work--and it was the only dressing to go with our Roast Turkey Dinner! Otherwise, I'll keep looking for a "GOOD" cornbread & sausage dressing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
It was good, but nothing special. I halved the recipe and had enough for an 11 x 17 pan. It is a 2 day effort (because of cornbread). I did not agree that spices were too heavy. Also, I used Brownberry Sage & Onion stuffing cubes rather than bread crumbs. True bread crumbs would have really made mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was a fantastic recipe, and my first attempt at homemade stuffing. My only complaint is that it made way too much. I halved the recipe, and that filled my 9x13 baking dish full, along with a stuffed turkey. Next time I will quarter this recipe, but it is definitely a keeper. Very easy to make as well. I used smoked sausage because it doesn't specify whether to use smoked, or ground, or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This recipe satified my family's taste for turkey dressing.They ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States