Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I had seen this numerous times on the reviews and had some Hanover tomatoes I wanted to use, that I bought plenty of at the end of the season. What made me make it was one of the top reviewers saying his wife fell off the couch after her first bite, it was so good. The only changes I made was using lite mayo with olive oil and a lighter parmesan cheese to reduce the saturated fat. I left out the black pepper just because I don't care for it. The one change I do not suggest is using a different vinegar as I did. I would definitely stick with the balsalmic as it is less tart in my opinion. I was surprised that 4 tomatoes were for 2 sandwiches! I ended up just using 2. I could have reduced the vinegrette to for doing that. Overall, it tasted pretty good, but I did find it very messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made this recipe almost exactly as stated; a little extra parmasan, a slice of monty jack under the tomatoes, Italian seasoning instead or oregano. My husband raved about it and can't wait for the next time we have this. We each could only eat one open-faced sandwich, and we had a California carrot and raisin salad alongside the sandwiches. It was a really great light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Very delicious! However next time I will omit the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenniferfsu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great open faced sandwich! We loved the balsamic vinegar in this. I made the recipe as written with just a few exceptions. I used one huge garden tomato and made three open faced sandwiches. I used fresh parsley and I added a couple of whole basil leaves to each sandwich under the tomato slice. We thought the basil was a wonderful addition. We enjoyed this one and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Holy Good for you sandwich!!! I left the cheese out and used veganaise in place of mayo...this is my new favorite lunch...so light but so satisfying....thanks SO MUCH for such an easy and great tasting recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great open faced sandwich! Loved everything about this one. I make this for my breakfast many mornings while the tomatoes are fresh. Thanks Katia for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Mmmm, so good! Quick and easy too! I served mine open faced. Next time I will add some fresh basil too. So good with home grown tomatoes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was good, but I think next time I'll make double the amount of mayo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
My meat eater husband said this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States