Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was so tasy! I served on an onion roll. I cut the recipe in half and made one sandwich. Next time ill make the two. I'm craving another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Easy and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
SUPER easy, very good! I used mircle whip and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Delicious. I could eat these everyday for lunch, 2 of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I had seen this numerous times on the reviews and had some Hanover tomatoes I wanted to use, that I bought plenty of at the end of the season. What made me make it was one of the top reviewers saying his wife fell off the couch after her first bite, it was so good. The only changes I made was using lite mayo with olive oil and a lighter parmesan cheese to reduce the saturated fat. I left out the black pepper just because I don't care for it. The one change I do not suggest is using a different vinegar as I did. I would definitely stick with the balsalmic as it is less tart in my opinion. I was surprised that 4 tomatoes were for 2 sandwiches! I ended up just using 2. I could have reduced the vinegrette to for doing that. Overall, it tasted pretty good, but I did find it very messy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made this recipe almost exactly as stated; a little extra parmasan, a slice of monty jack under the tomatoes, Italian seasoning instead or oregano. My husband raved about it and can't wait for the next time we have this. We each could only eat one open-faced sandwich, and we had a California carrot and raisin salad alongside the sandwiches. It was a really great light dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Very delicious! However next time I will omit the balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenniferfsu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great open faced sandwich! We loved the balsamic vinegar in this. I made the recipe as written with just a few exceptions. I used one huge garden tomato and made three open faced sandwiches. I used fresh parsley and I added a couple of whole basil leaves to each sandwich under the tomato slice. We thought the basil was a wonderful addition. We enjoyed this one and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Holy Good for you sandwich!!! I left the cheese out and used veganaise in place of mayo...this is my new favorite lunch...so light but so satisfying....thanks SO MUCH for such an easy and great tasting recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great open faced sandwich! Loved everything about this one. I make this for my breakfast many mornings while the tomatoes are fresh. Thanks Katia for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States