Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
very tasty. the marinade and spread really takes what i normally prepare basically to a whole new level
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Wonderful! Different recipe for tomato sandwiches. Will make again. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyJem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Wow, made with farm fresh heirloom tomatoes and added fresh basil leaves. So good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Great sandwich. Second time I marinated the tomatoes in Italian Dressing, mixed mayo with Italian Seasonings and used shredded mozzarella. It came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moonachie, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
4 1/2 stars. We loved the taste but found ourselves pulling the tomato skins off the slices as we ate these yummy sandwiches. Even better with a sprinkling of garlic in the mayo. I must say I was light with the amount of mayo and heavy handed with the Parmesan cheese on top. I like how the mayo melted into the toasted bread like butter when I spread it on, as I am not a huge mayo fan. I shared this recipe with my mom, who managed to serve it to my mayonaise-hating dad without him noticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
My husband is usually picky about Italian flavors but he did like this one. I fixed it exactly as published and we really enjoyed the mix of flavors. Definitely going to fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very low in fat without the mayo and was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. My only problem was the tomatoes were very slippery and they tended to slip off the sandwich. But I didn't care. I just scooped what fell back onto the sandwich. The tomatoes were so sweet and flavorful and the mayo added so much. I used plain french bread, toasted, but I think if I had used a thicker bread, it would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Very quick and very delicious! One of the best tomato sandwiches I have ever tasted. My first try I didn't have the balsamic vinegar so just marinated in olive oil. It was very good but the next time I used both and it was fantastic. I did use sour dough bread and it really added to the taste. Excellent recipe would highly recommend for the tomato lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States