Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
Delicious recipe. I made it with thickly-sliced toasted french bread and added some dried basil to the mayonaise spread. Would be great with fresh basil in between the bread/spread and the tomatoes on top. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
This is a perfect way to use garden-fresh tomatoes. We used fresh french bread and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
YUM! Thats all I have to say about this tangy, zesty sandwich! I had it on wheat bread, and I cant wait to try it with Italian bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
A DEFINATE KEEPER! A so simple recipe that yields a so delicious sandwich! My only mods were adding 50% more of each herb, salting the tomatos after marinading and adding more cheese for the "bubbly effect". EXCELLENT WITH CREAMY SOUP! and great for appetizers when served in bite sized pieces open-faced! AND THE MARINADE CAN BE EASILY CONVERTED INTO A NICE VINEGRETTE, instead of having to throw it away or boil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
Delicious! A nice, light summer dish. A great way to use up fresh tomatoes. I used 4 Roma tomatoes and still had a lot left over so 2 regular tomatoes should be plenty. Tried it on both Italian bread and wheat. Liked the Italian, my husband and I agreed we didn't care for the wheat. Served with soup and made a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
What a wonderful way to make a tomato sandwich. I have never marinated them before cooking, this really held the flavor in. Love the zinged up mayo. This is a recipie to use again and again. And with a little fresh herbs, you have a nice salad dressing after you're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I truely enjoyed this! I have so many garden tomatoes & this is the perfect way to use them up. The flavors melded so nicely together after being in the broiler. It's a perfect lite lunch, thanks so much Kat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Very tasty and quick! My husband and I loved the fresh taste. A good quality, dense bread is a must. Next time will try a mixture of tomatoes and roasted red peppers. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This sandwich is great! The olive oil and balsamic vinegar give it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This is a tasty idea for an alternative for the usual sandwich at lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States