Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great recipe. My kids loved it. I substituted the oil and vinegar with Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used Italian bread, half the tomatoes, and slices of mozzarella cheese plus the mayo to create amazing open-faced sandwiches that made a great small lunch for 3 people. I did not have the parsley or olive oil, but kept everything else basically the same. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is very nice snack. Next time I would use a little less balsamic vinegar and mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
VERY GOOD and comes in handy for a quick fix - especially for my vegetarian hubby. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
VERY tasty. I'm giving it a 4 star b/c it was great, but didn't blow my socks off. However, I will definitely make this again. My husband really liked it, too. Made it exactly as written, only I used vine-ripened cherry tomatoes because the regular tomatoes at the store looked blah. I'd recommend this to a friend:) We had this with the Caesar Salad Supreme on this site (minus the anchovies) and it was a great combo! Thanks, Katia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Simple, but a great combination of flavors. I made mine in pita bread and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Super fantastic, easy and gourmet... No changes except added one minced garlic clove to the mayo mixture. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Delicious! While I love plain old toasted tomato + mayo sandwiches, this was a really nice change! Loved the mayo mix especially, will use it on other sandwiches too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Wow! we absolutely loved these! I can only imagine what they will taste like in the summer when tomatoes are at their peak! Somehow I was out of parmesan cheese (don't know how that happened) so I made the mayo mixture without it, put it on sliced hoagie rolls and topped with thinly sliced provolone cheese, then tomatoes. Served open-faced and they were so delicious. I can't wait to make them with the parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow! This takes a plain 'ol tomato sandwich to a whole new level with a nice Italian twist! I toasted some thick slices of Italian bread and added a bit of salt to the tomatoes. I decreased the amount of herbs in the mayo mixture a bit to taste. I also added some fresh basil over top of the tomatoes and a bit of mozzarella cheese along with the Parmesan. The balsamic marinade on the tomatoes really adds a nice tang to the sandwich - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States