Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow! This takes a plain 'ol tomato sandwich to a whole new level with a nice Italian twist! I toasted some thick slices of Italian bread and added a bit of salt to the tomatoes. I decreased the amount of herbs in the mayo mixture a bit to taste. I also added some fresh basil over top of the tomatoes and a bit of mozzarella cheese along with the Parmesan. The balsamic marinade on the tomatoes really adds a nice tang to the sandwich - delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
A DEFINATE KEEPER! A so simple recipe that yields a so delicious sandwich! My only mods were adding 50% more of each herb, salting the tomatos after marinading and adding more cheese for the "bubbly effect". EXCELLENT WITH CREAMY SOUP! and great for appetizers when served in bite sized pieces open-faced! AND THE MARINADE CAN BE EASILY CONVERTED INTO A NICE VINEGRETTE, instead of having to throw it away or boil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is a terrific recipe. I made it in August when tomatos are at their peak flavor, but I can see making it in the winter with fresh plum tomato. Also because it was summer I added fresh chopped herbs to the mayo mixture, parsley, rosemary and basil. As it was a poolside lunch, I put the prepared sandwiches on a foil lined, thick cookie sheet and put it on the grill and closd the lid for about 5 minutes. But broiling would give it a bubbly top. Also, THICK DENSE bread is a MUST! And remember to toast the bread first. Thank you so much for this recipe, my daughter the vegetarian even asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
There isn't enough I can say about this recipe. I wish I could give it more stars!! I did change a few things due to not having them. I used Newmans Own Olive Oil and Vinegar (a salad dressing) instead of your sauce but it was close enough. I also used sliced american cheese. It was amazing! My mouth is still watering! And as for the mayo..gosh it was heavenly. I did add some garlic powder like a few others suggested which made it even better. When I put it in the oven I was already waiting for it to come out! It smelt great and was so good! I love it so much that I created an account here JUST to review it. Thank you so much for this mouthwatering recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Great recipe! I marinated thinly sliced red onion along with the tomatoes, used a little less of the Parmesan, and added a thin slice of Swiss cheese. Also, since my husband loves BLT's, added a few pre-cooked slices of bacon to his before adding the tomato/onion topping and the cheese -- he loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These were fantastic!! The mayo/parmesan mixture is a must. What a great blend of flavors...I wish I had made more for myself. When I took it out from under the broiler, there was quite a bit of liquid on top. I just soaked it up with a paper towel and it didn't compromise the taste at all. Next time I might try fat free mayo to cut down on the calories, but other than that these were awesome. Two thumbs up kat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Very tasty and quick! My husband and I loved the fresh taste. A good quality, dense bread is a must. Next time will try a mixture of tomatoes and roasted red peppers. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
WOW! My wife about fell off the couch after she tasted these! All she could say was "mmmm...." followed by some mumbling as she enjoyed these tomato sandwiches. The only change was I used fresh multi-grain bread and fresh grated Parmesan. Excellent! We have made it twice in the past week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This recipe has become a staple for me in the past few months! It is so simple yet incredible. I make it for lunch, serve it open faced as an appetizer and sometimes as part of dinner. The most important part is procuring the ripe tomatoes. If I can't find ripe tomatoes at my produce stand, I won't make it. I slice them thick and only differ from the recipe in that I add a little garlic powder to the mayo spread and salt the tomato slices before adding the parm on top. This recipe is so good that you really should try it as is before you start throwing your own ideas in. I have impressed many a guest with this one. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was delicious! Toasted tomato sandwiches have always been a favorite of mine, even as a kid. I didn't marinate the tomatoes, as I was using fresh beefsteak tomatoes from the Farmer's Market. I used mayo, parmesan, pepper, Club House italiano seasoning and garlic powder. Spread the mixture on a bun and broiled until brown and bubbly. Then added tomato. DELICIOUS!! Awesome with a salad for a light tasting supper on a warm summer evening!! Thanks Kat! EDITED: I still do not marinate the tomatoes, but I do use a balsamic glaze that I drizzle over the top of each tomato once I have broiled the buns. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States