Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was so simple and delicious. We used a fresh baguette and added a little mozzerella and fresh basil for taste. My newly vegetarian 11 year old daughter gobbled it right up! Thank you sharing! Will definitely add to our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janni
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
So yummy! only thing i would change is to add a little more sauce, the tomatoes overpowered it. My mom said she thought she would never like a tomato sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
add garlic powder and fresh basil for the win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
OH MY --- Are there even words to express the simple yet complex flavors of this masterpiece!!! My tongue was dancing with flavors!!!! It's brilliant this recipe, pretty much have all the ingredients on hand. i do suggest using your own fresh herbs, yum. ALSO, i have tried this on 3 different types of breads / rolls - white sandwich bread, slider rolls, as well as my homeade rolls, it doesn't even matter these come out gooey and fabulous! I also poured the extra oil / vinegar misture over the top, wich the parm seems to dance wtih. I will be making this the rest of my life. It was something you would taste at the million dollar priced Vegas resteraunts!! THAT GOOD! I wanted to add that i used garlic powder as well as a bit of crushed red pepper to the mayo. LOVE THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Actually, it was a dissappointment. I would have enjoyed a plain old tomato and mayo samdwich better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great recipe. My kids loved it. I substituted the oil and vinegar with Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used Italian bread, half the tomatoes, and slices of mozzarella cheese plus the mayo to create amazing open-faced sandwiches that made a great small lunch for 3 people. I did not have the parsley or olive oil, but kept everything else basically the same. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is very nice snack. Next time I would use a little less balsamic vinegar and mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
VERY GOOD and comes in handy for a quick fix - especially for my vegetarian hubby. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
VERY tasty. I'm giving it a 4 star b/c it was great, but didn't blow my socks off. However, I will definitely make this again. My husband really liked it, too. Made it exactly as written, only I used vine-ripened cherry tomatoes because the regular tomatoes at the store looked blah. I'd recommend this to a friend:) We had this with the Caesar Salad Supreme on this site (minus the anchovies) and it was a great combo! Thanks, Katia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States