Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Yum, it is the best tomato sandwich, especially with a slice of fresh mozzarella underneath the tomatoes. I made them on leftover hamburger buns which was perfect. The second time I made them, I used thin sliced muenster and regular bread (which doesn't hold up well). You definitely need a thicker bread and I'll for sure be getting more fresh mozzarella before making them again. It's a great way to use up home grown tomatoes and have a nice dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is incredibly delicious. I've made it twice and both times my company went home with the recipe. I've been using a crusty bread such as french or portuguese. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Yummy, yummy to my tummy. I added a minced clove of garlic. Used Pillsbury French bread that you have to bake. Cut the dough in half so I had to loaves of bread and then just split them open to make my sandwiches. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ditk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was so simple and delicious. We used a fresh baguette and added a little mozzerella and fresh basil for taste. My newly vegetarian 11 year old daughter gobbled it right up! Thank you sharing! Will definitely add to our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janni
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
So yummy! only thing i would change is to add a little more sauce, the tomatoes overpowered it. My mom said she thought she would never like a tomato sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
add garlic powder and fresh basil for the win
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
OH MY --- Are there even words to express the simple yet complex flavors of this masterpiece!!! My tongue was dancing with flavors!!!! It's brilliant this recipe, pretty much have all the ingredients on hand. i do suggest using your own fresh herbs, yum. ALSO, i have tried this on 3 different types of breads / rolls - white sandwich bread, slider rolls, as well as my homeade rolls, it doesn't even matter these come out gooey and fabulous! I also poured the extra oil / vinegar misture over the top, wich the parm seems to dance wtih. I will be making this the rest of my life. It was something you would taste at the million dollar priced Vegas resteraunts!! THAT GOOD! I wanted to add that i used garlic powder as well as a bit of crushed red pepper to the mayo. LOVE THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Actually, it was a dissappointment. I would have enjoyed a plain old tomato and mayo samdwich better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Great recipe. My kids loved it. I substituted the oil and vinegar with Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used Italian bread, half the tomatoes, and slices of mozzarella cheese plus the mayo to create amazing open-faced sandwiches that made a great small lunch for 3 people. I did not have the parsley or olive oil, but kept everything else basically the same. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States