Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This was a big hit with my family. It was a big hit with me because it was so easy to make! I bought a loaf of uncut french bread from the bakery, cut it in half lengthwise and then into threes. I toasted them under the broiler, and then proceeded as the recipe called for, using the spread only on the top and using fresh tomatoes from our garden. It was a great side to the pork chops and salad that we had for dinner. I know this will be a frequent request in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mich
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This recipe was AMAZING!!! I tried it just as written and was greatly impressed with the flavor!!! Next time I'll try a few of the suggestions posted by others like melting a slice of flavored cheese on top and if you wanted to add meat there was a great suggestion for using a few slices of pre-cooked bacon I will be trying for sure. Thanks for submitting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I tryed the recipe and hubby and I both agree that this is one recipe I will never make again. We enjoy the tomatoes while they are fresh in our county and then wait till they come on again the following year. Our county is known in Ontario for their fresh yeild of tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a great side dish! I didn't use mayo though, I used a green pepper cashew cheese that I made the other day. Still added oregano, pepper and grated cashew cheese, no parsley though. Very simple and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Scituate, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
very easy and really good, great use for my extra tomatoes. next time i'm gonna try it with a bagel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was so good! I made it for supper tonight and we really enjoyed it. I made one sandwich exactly like the recipe and changed the rest to suit our tastes. I give it five stars just like it is written, but it really became special with bacon and mozzarella cheese added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymakes5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I have made this many many times. I use San Luis Cracked Wheat Sourdough and home made mayonnaise from a recipe Wesson Oil Co came out with in the 30s. Also like another reviewer stated I used some mozzarella and then topped that with Parmesan and topped it with fresh chopped basil after it came out from under the broiler. On hot summer days this great for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Just tried this and made it (gasp!) exactly as written. Very quick, easy and tasty. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
wonderful recipe. Quick and easy to make and oh so delicious. I will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Great recipe, added a slice of half cooked bacon cut in half on top, then broiled until cheese and bacon browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States