Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Wow ... I wasn't sure what this was going to be like but I loved it. My husband wasn't fond of the "tomato sandwich" idea but he absolutely LOVED this. I used more mayo/parmesan cheese, and I also used shredded parm instead. In the mixture I used basil, thyme, pepper, and garlic powder .... put the tomatoes on top of the mayo mixture/bread and topped with salt and shredded parm. VERY YUMMY! We will be trying this as a BLT tomorrow. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley W.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
it's ok...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I love this sandwich. I find it has a very refreshing taste, which is great for those long work days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I absolutely love this! I like a little more mayonnaise and cheese than this calls for so I doubled the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhiggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blanco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I like this way better with white than with wheat (but I grew up on white bread). The wheat drowned out the taste of the mayo/parm mix (so much for the hard work!) The tomatoes were soooo juicy and delicious after the broiling. The balsamic marinade makes the perfect kick. I did sprinkle some salt on top and I had felt like it was lacking a little before, so I added some feta on top this last time, and I think that is they key. I am addicted now! Also, toasting the bread first is also key, otherwise the heavy open faced sandwich will never hold up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Just Fantastic.... (no changes). wowed my girlfriend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This went along perfectly with a soup I had prepared. Loved the sandwich so much, I saved the leftovers and ate them by themselves the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Made this for my picky husband to go along with soup. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
These came out better than expected! My family raved about them! Minor changes: while marinading the tomatoes I added a couple of cloves of garlic as well as salt and pepper. I topped the sandwiches off with fresh basil...very good! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States