Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
YUM! What a wonderful snack. I hate heating up the oven for something small, so I used the broil setting on my toaster oven and it worked great! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoingDomestic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Very good as an appetizer, used small rye bread made the mayo the day before and used italian blasamic dressing. Topped with mozzarella to melt and then fresh basil leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this, I must have broiled it too close to the top the first time because the exposed parts of bread got burnt to a crisp, I mean, inedible, after three minutes, lol. I served this open faced and the tomato kept trying to slide off the sandwich every time I took a bite, so I might try dicing the tomato in large chunks next time. Loved it! Thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Absolutely delicious! We've made this twice and have been amazed at the great combination of flavors. Kudos and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
A little bland, but there was leftover balsamic/oil mix left on the plate after the tomatoes were gone and it was quite tasty after we dipped it in that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I was wary of this recipe because I don't care much for mayo, but these were WONDERFUL!! Didn't taste "mayo-y" at all to me. I served them on square rolls. We will definitely be having these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
very tasty! i agree with other reviews to up the amount of herbs though. I also add more black pepper for a spicier version. besides that this recipe has become one of my favorites! Should change the name to Daughters best broiled tomato sandwich cause my mother has asked me to make this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Taking the first bite of this brought me back to Italy... (or it would, if I had ever been there!) Such a great flavour from the herbs and the melted cheese, and marinating the tomatoes made it so much better than I thought! I just used my toaster oven since I was only making for myself this time, but next time I will made for the whole family! I love this recipe since it's so easy both to make and to remember, and it smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Wonderful! And if, like me, you like/make homemade wheat bread - yummmy - what a great touch and even heartier. Agree that marinating tomtoes too long is not good. We love bruschetta and will still treat ourselves to that occasionally, but this is a great lunch or quick summer dinner idea! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was very good! I made it exactly as written and it was a big hit for me and my son at lunch. I served it open faced on mini sandwich rolls. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States