Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Very Good! Reminded me of the tomato pie I make. Nice switch from grilled cheese and tomato. I did add shredded 4 four cheese on top of everything...toasted up nicely and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Excellent sandwich!I found this recipe about a year ago so I've made it quite a few times all ready, even my 5 and 3 yr. old girls love it. I use mayo made with olive oil, fresh parsley, I double the amount of spices and also double the parm cheese. Soooo good for something made with a few simple ingredents! Thanks Katia for such delicious recipe! Elvira Silva
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
These are the best! Try different breads and tomato varieties for change in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Yummy, a great recipe to play around with to make it to your liking. I used fresh basil, rosemary, next time I will try topping tomato with mozzarella mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We *LOVED* these...my husband gave me a thumbs up and an "excellent!" on the first bite. I followed the recipe exactly, *except* that I added a very thin pan-fried chicken breast seasoned with lemon pepper, dill and garlic to each sandwich. While these would be absolutely fantabulous on their own, I just wanted the extra protein for our meal. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe that I'll use OFTEN! ETA: I never do this, but I had leftover chicken, so we had the exact same meal two nights in a row. These are just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was a good recipe. Having the tomato as the center of the dish provided for a fresh-tasting, delectible lunch. I cooked this for one. It was simple and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I can't get over how wonderful this recipe is. Only thing I do different is I broil it until the cheese is melted on the top(60-90 seconds). 5 minutes is WAY to long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmarie04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made one sandwich and used whole wheat bread and lowfat mayo. Very good. I ate mine with a cup of homemade tomato-roasted red pepper soup. Quite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was really good. I can't wait until my tomatoes grow in my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I wish I could give this recipe TEN stars! This has to be my most favorite summer sandwich...EVER! I will only make this with fresh, homegrown tomatoes. I probably make this 2-3 times a WEEK in the summer and I can't get enough of it. The taste is SO good! You MUST make this sandwich! I use a pie plate to marinate my tomatoes and it works perfectly...since I only make one sandwich at a time (for me!)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nagylover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States