Mama's Best Broiled Tomato Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
The recipe calls for 4 ripe tomatoes for 4 slices of bread, so that's way off. On the other hand, I needed more than 3 tablespoons of mayo for the mixture to cover 4 slices of bread. If I make this again, I will salt the tomatoes, rather than add salt to the spread. Lastly, this is very sloppy to eat unless you use a knife and fork. I would slice up a baguette for one- or two-bite appetizers. It is very tasty and worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Delicious! Next time I think I'll drizzle some pesto on top yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Easy, quick, and super tasty! So good, we both wanted two sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I followed this recipe to the letter. We ate these as open faced sandwiches so we put tomato slices on each slice of bread. I'm not a huge tomato fan but want to integrate them into my diet so I thought I would give this a try. Go ahead give this one a try it is worth it and you won't regret it. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Delic! Used a slice of provolone instead of Parmesan. Marinade was Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Tried this for lunch today and my wife and I loved it. Great vegetarian sandwich for some friends of ours. This is something light and quick that we will serve to friends we invite over for lunch. Only thing is that I would make about 1/3 more mayo spread that is put on the toast before broiling. And I needed to increase the Parmesan cheese four fold in order to have enough cheese to suit my wife and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
One of the best recipes ever!!! Easy, and fun to change ing. and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Great! I would use a little less vinegar and add a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myesha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I really love recipes that depend on the quality of the ingredients and this is one of them. How simple; how delicious. I added a side of baby bok choy and made it a full meal. A vegetarian fantasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Replogle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Great way to fancy up a plain chicken strip lunch. Served this quick and easy recipe with microwaved chicken strips and honey mustard dipping sauce. The broiled tomatoes recipe made it feel like a restaurant meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cucumber Sandwich

This healthy cucumber sandwich stars avocado, pepperoncini, and cream cheese.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States