Mama's Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
My family has a similar recipe to this but we add a tsp of sugar (or splenda) and a couple of Tbs of fresh lemon or lime juice. This is an excellent base vinaigrette which can then be built upon using whatever ingredients you choose, such as fruits, anchovies, olives, avocados, etc.. An invaluable recipe. The mustard is the key ingredient here as it is the emulsifier, which keeps the oil and vinegar from separating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very simpple and easy. Why buy salad dressing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This didn't knock our socks off. I think the strong vinegar flavor overpowered the other ingredients. I'll play with this one though and tweak it to better suit my family's preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Great recipe! Had all the ingredients sitting ready to go. The dijon really makes it! Thanks a bunch. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Delicious...cut the recipe in half, and even then only used 2 tblspn of evoo...used this to marinate chicken for the grill.....loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Great flavor! I originally went easy on the balsamic vinegar, per some of the suggestions but ended up adding more in as I was tasting it, so I say the original amounts are fine as is, as long as your balsamic vinegar is of a good quality. I also added just a smidgen of sugar, to even out the tartness. Am eating it in a salad, as I type this - yum! I can't wait to use this on pasta. My husband used this as a marinade for the Balsamic Chicken and Fresh Mozzarella recipe and said it tasted very good - not overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I don't buy salad dressing anymore since I have found several good ones on this site. This is my fave balsamic vinaigrette! I've also used it to marinade my chicken served w/ a salad. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I did follow the suggestion and lessen the amount of vinegar - 1/2 cup instead of 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I used two cloves instead of two. I simply mixed the ingrediants first and was dissapointed with the result. My boyfriend suggested that I put it in a blender for 2 minutes. It helped the oil and vinegar come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Fantastic! Thanks mama. I've made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States