Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
We enjoyed this dish. I took other's advice and doubled the sauce, ( I didn't double the red pepper flakes, though). Should have went with my gut and not used as much cornstarch slurry as it called for. I doubled it since I doubled the sauce and it was very thick and not very sauce like. Next time will slowly add in cornstarch slurry until I like the consistancy. I will make this again as it was quick and easy! Served with green beans and eggrolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Best thing i have ever made in my entire life and i can cook pretty good. This is actually better then if you go out and get orange chicken at the cheesecake factory wow we will be eating this on a regular basis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I really liked this. I used cayenne powder instead Chinese 5 spice because I didn't have any. The sauce is a lot like the sauce on Chinese takeout sweet garlic ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was really good - I only made one minor modification to the recipe, and that was to add cayenne instead of the red pepper flakes. Next time I make this, I will not use the cornstarch/water mixture because after reducing, the sauce is thick enough without having to thicken it further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is awesome! We just finished eating dinner and I got ablsolute raves from everyone (including 3 kids)! I had extra time so I marinated the chicken in orange juice and soy sauce. Don't know if it changed the outcome of the tast but it was delicious. Better than any local "chinese takeout" Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Awesome recipe!! As for a previous reviewer's comment about the ratio of water to rice: it depends what kind of rice you make. Brown rice is 2c water for 1c rice, some sticky rice is 1c to 1c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koryu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Thought this was pretty good. I did double the sauce but thought it was a bit too sweet. So I will decrease the amount of brown sugar next time. The chicken came out a bit chewy even though I only browned it for about 6 minutes. I don't think the chicken needs to brown that long if it is going to simmer in the sauce for 30 minutes. Added mushrooms to the sauce and served over jasmine rice. Might also try to add other veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkharder73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I cooked this last night for supper. I was surprised that I had almost all of the ingredients on hand...save the Chinese five-spice powder. We don't like things too hot, so I only used 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. It was very good, but I think the next time I make it; I'll double the sauce portion of the recipe. We like a little more sauce to put over the rice. I cooked my rice in our rice cooker and it was perfect. Very good though and came together rather quickly for a weeknight meal. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Easy and Tasty! I didnt have the Chinese five-spice, so I threw in a little Cheyenne and some Ginger. Turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Pretty good recipe. I added shrimp and whenever possible use stock instead of water. For this recipe I used chicken stock for the rice and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDMAN8159

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States