Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I really liked this. I used cayenne powder instead Chinese 5 spice because I didn't have any. The sauce is a lot like the sauce on Chinese takeout sweet garlic ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Wonderful... I followed the chicken recipe exactly...spicey, great flavour! But I cooked brown rice instead. (shouldn't your rice instuctions say 1 cup rice to 2 cups water?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skaha Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Awesome recipe!! As for a previous reviewer's comment about the ratio of water to rice: it depends what kind of rice you make. Brown rice is 2c water for 1c rice, some sticky rice is 1c to 1c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koryu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Easy and Tasty! I didnt have the Chinese five-spice, so I threw in a little Cheyenne and some Ginger. Turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I cooked this last night for supper. I was surprised that I had almost all of the ingredients on hand...save the Chinese five-spice powder. We don't like things too hot, so I only used 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes. It was very good, but I think the next time I make it; I'll double the sauce portion of the recipe. We like a little more sauce to put over the rice. I cooked my rice in our rice cooker and it was perfect. Very good though and came together rather quickly for a weeknight meal. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is awesome! We just finished eating dinner and I got ablsolute raves from everyone (including 3 kids)! I had extra time so I marinated the chicken in orange juice and soy sauce. Don't know if it changed the outcome of the tast but it was delicious. Better than any local "chinese takeout" Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Thought this was pretty good. I did double the sauce but thought it was a bit too sweet. So I will decrease the amount of brown sugar next time. The chicken came out a bit chewy even though I only browned it for about 6 minutes. I don't think the chicken needs to brown that long if it is going to simmer in the sauce for 30 minutes. Added mushrooms to the sauce and served over jasmine rice. Might also try to add other veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkharder73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Pretty good recipe. I added shrimp and whenever possible use stock instead of water. For this recipe I used chicken stock for the rice and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDMAN8159

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I love Chinese 5 spice powder and I loved this dish. I doubled the spice powder, but I wish I'd doubled all the sauce ingredients. After combining the sauce with the cooked chicken (3 large breasts) there wasn't enough sauce to bother with the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very quick and easy dinner! I'll make it again-Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISTAAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States