Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I have to say it was a very tasty meal. I agree with others about doubling the sauce and THANKS to all for the suggestions. Also I made sure to back off the sugar to keep it from being to sweet. I will use this one again when we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I can not believe I haven't reviewed this recipe yet! I've made this numerous times, it became a staple in this house. This recipe is delicious as written, however after making it a few times I always just zest and juice an entire orange and don't bother measuring it. I've added green beans with the chicken and it's great! Peppers and broccoli would be just as good. Tonight I am making it and don't have any chicken breasts so I am using the sauce over chicken thighs and baking it, smells good already! Thank you for the great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe as written except for omitting the red pepper since I have young kids in the house. The orange flavor stood out a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Although I'm rating this a '5' as is, I do think I will boost it up next time. The sauce is to die for. I should have doubled like so many others have said. This recipe is going into my 'box' but I will add peanuts and perhaps some snow peas next time. It would be even better with crunch! If you do not have the Chinese 5 spice...get it..order it online if you have to. It makes this dish..along with the wonderful orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjohnal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great Recipe! I took other's advice and double the sauce. Also, I dusted already boiled chicken pieces with cornstarch and fried them until golden brown. This gave the chicken a little bit of crunchiness that mixes very well with the sauce. Thank you for an awesome and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana Lizarraga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes. I have made this dish several times and have made a few edits to punch up the key flavors. First, I use about a Tbsp of orange zest and use all of the juice from the orange. That equals about 1/4 cup of orange juice if a large, juicy orange is used. Also, a heaping quarter tsp of five spice is the way I go. I forgo the olive oil and simply use a non-stick wok. Additionally, I see no need for the corn starch at the end. Just take the lid off during the last 5 or 10 minutes of the cook time and the sauce thickens naturally. The next time I make this I am going to try adding bits of pulp from the orange! I love the bold, orangy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Baumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Excellent recipe! This recipe is very usual on my weekday lunches: it’s not complicated, ingredients are easy to have on hand, and the taste is really amazing, I don’t add cornstarch and never miss it, you can skip this step easily. Also the chicken served without rice is an option for a low carb meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Amazing - first time for using Chinese 5-spice powder - love it. Made the Coconut Rice on this site instead of regular rice. Note, I forgot step 4 (it was on the back side of my print out) and it was still yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marissahopeneel
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is absolutely amazing! Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States