Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I thought when I read this recipe that we would love it. I made it today and, yes, yes yes, I was right: we love it! I followed the recipe exactly for the sauce, except I made triple. Did that because I had nearly double the amount of chicken. We found the flavor perfect! Lots of garlic, but don't be afraid, it tasted so good. I didn't have orange peel so omitted that. Omitted the Chinese 5 spice powder too. I added pineapple chunks because I like them in such recipes, but didn't add the juice as I wanted to follow the sauce recipe as written (apart from those items I didn't have). I did add more vegetables -- yellow and green peppers, onions, and carrots in addition to the green beans. Instead of crushed red pepper, I chopped a mild pepper and put it in. It was a bit zippy for me but my other half said it was the perfect hint of kick for him. Definitely a 5+ star recipe for us and we will be having it again and again. Easy to make, too. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
For those who loved this recipe try the Asian Lettuce Wraps from this site. They are very similar to this. My husband made this and left out the orange peel(didn't have an orange) & used half the amount of crushed red pepper so it would be too hot for me who is not a fan of spice & our daughter. I do agree that it could've simmered not as long because the chicken did dry out. Otherwise, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Yum. I've made many different Asian dishes and this one is among the best. Followed the sauce recipe exactly, just doubled it. Added snow peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Really enjoyed this recipe. I did double the sauce and it was the perfect amount for 5 servings. I cubed the chicken and browned in 6 minutes til just pink in the middle then simmered in the sauce before adding the cornstarch slurry. Turned out very tender! All 3 kids liked it but 2 felt it was a bit spicy, although I wouldn't describe either of them as spice lovers. It was the perfect amount for me - you get the feel of warmth but not unpleasant heat. But I DO like spice. So be aware and adjust the cayenne accordingly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chamblee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Really delicious. Skipped the orange peal and Chinese 5 spice, but added 3 T Sriracha sauce and 3 T Szechaun sauce (San-J). Cut up onions into chicken stir fry. Would be good to add more vegetables, like peppers and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALEPRICE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
It was okay, but not really worth all the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I recently made this for my family and I have to say, it was a big hit!!! Thank you so much for the recipe! The family loved it except for the three that contracted food poisoning. That might have been my fault and not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Recipe was great, very sweet with a bit of a kick! I didn't have actual oranges, so there was no orange peel in it and I did not put the Chinese 5 spices in either. But it turned out just fine! I did broccoli cooked in soy sauce and minced garlic on the side too. Yumm! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lycy
Home Town: Spanaway, Washington, USA
Living In: Roy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Delicious! Made just as written, and it was a total hit, but next time I might cut the sugar down to see if I can get away with it, not for the sake of taste (because it was delicious) but just for health's sake. Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This recipe was very quick and easy to make, but was only ok for my taste. I probably wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States