Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Love this with chicken and beef. I don't use the Chinese Five spice, just because I don't have it in my pantry or ever use it. Taste great even without it. I serve with fried rice and edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Super delicious! I garnished with cilantro and chopped peanuts. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Even adjusting for all the ' equivalent' foods, it's still taste good. I thought I thawed out chicken breasts, but it turned out to be thighs, didn't have oj but had my toddlers half finished tropical juice, didn't have 5 spices but had a random ' seasoning' on the shelf. Didn't add any chilli flakes, added some cabbage so we get some serving of vegetables. No ketchup but wanted to finish off the opened jar of tomato paste. Obviously, no peel too, as did not have the fruit. And it still turned out pretty tasty ==^.^== I took the double the sauce advice but end up using only around halved the corn starch thing, watched slowly, the consistency of the sauce change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Was good but very orangey. Maybe using fresh orange juice was a mistake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
LOVE this recipe. I make it regularly and usually double sauce. I prefer chicken thighs to breasts. Tonight I accidentally left out all the spices(!) and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is quite good. I doubled the sauce, but only used 1/3c. of brown sugar. I dredged the chicken chunks in cornstarch so as to avoid the last step and only browned them for about 2 min. Then I added the sauce and cooked, covered, for only 15 min. more. When done, I stirred in broccoli and red bell pepper that I cooked in the microwave for just a bit so it still had some crunch. The orange flavor in the sauce is good but pretty subtle. Served over basmati rice. *UPDATE* Made this again the same way I previously did but this time served it over quinoa, which I prefer. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The was very good! Even my pickiest eater came back for seconds. I followed the other commenters' advice and halved the red pepper and doubled the sauce. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
It was good, but did not look like the picture at all. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Followed as directed except cheated with Uncle Bens boil in a bag rice. The sauce is outstanding. Did not have the chinese 5 spice or cayenne pepper so added a bit of ginger... I doubled it as we have teenage boys....it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machias, Maine, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Too sweet - need to really cut down on the sugar. My kids (14 and 11) liked it at first bite - but the sweetness got to them real quick. They said it would be good if not so sweet. I'm going to cut it down and try again. Otherwise it was an easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States