Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Great Recipe! I took other's advice and double the sauce. Also, I dusted already boiled chicken pieces with cornstarch and fried them until golden brown. This gave the chicken a little bit of crunchiness that mixes very well with the sauce. Thank you for an awesome and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana Lizarraga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes. I have made this dish several times and have made a few edits to punch up the key flavors. First, I use about a Tbsp of orange zest and use all of the juice from the orange. That equals about 1/4 cup of orange juice if a large, juicy orange is used. Also, a heaping quarter tsp of five spice is the way I go. I forgo the olive oil and simply use a non-stick wok. Additionally, I see no need for the corn starch at the end. Just take the lid off during the last 5 or 10 minutes of the cook time and the sauce thickens naturally. The next time I make this I am going to try adding bits of pulp from the orange! I love the bold, orangy flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Baumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Excellent recipe! This recipe is very usual on my weekday lunches: it’s not complicated, ingredients are easy to have on hand, and the taste is really amazing, I don’t add cornstarch and never miss it, you can skip this step easily. Also the chicken served without rice is an option for a low carb meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Humphreed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Amazing - first time for using Chinese 5-spice powder - love it. Made the Coconut Rice on this site instead of regular rice. Note, I forgot step 4 (it was on the back side of my print out) and it was still yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marissahopeneel
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is absolutely amazing! Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly. I prepared the sauce the night before to save time. I ended up decreasing the amount of chicken by half so there'd be enough sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because although the taste was 5 stars, the portion size was way off! It said serves 6, it served 3 and barely! So if you try this recipe, definitely double the entire recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious! I love this recipe! It has become a regular on our menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I found this recipe to be very sweet with rather in-your-face flavor, nothing subtle about it. I knew it was aimed more at kids, so I knew my husband and I would both find it edible, but not a favorite. Problem was, neither our ten year old nor our seven year old cared for it at all. The older eats anything with ketchup on it, too, but this was too much sweetness even for him. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States