Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Yum! I skipped the cornstarch, and simmered for only 10 minutes, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carpar1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Great recipe! Chinese 5 spice makes this dish so no substitutions. I doubled the sauce like others suggested and it worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Yum! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kpintar
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Doubled the sauce but otherwise perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This recipe isn't perfect, but it tasted so good that I can't give it less than five stars. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and seasoned and coated my chicken cubes with Paula Deen's House Seasoning (4 parts salt to 1 part each garlic powder and black pepper) and corn starch before adding cooking them. I had one small package each of chicken breasts and boneless skinless thighs; both turned out equally good as I was careful not to overcook them. When they were done, I lifted them out of the pan and threw in a sliced onion to saute in the leftover oil. I left the onion in when I added the sauce mixture. I didn't have an orange handy, so I used 1 T. OJ concentrate from the can for each sauce recipe, and I did double that as suggested. We don't like much heat, so I used only 1/4 t. red pepper flakes for the double recipe, and that was detectable but not overwhelming for us. We steamed some broccoli and added that to the mix along with the chicken at the end. My husband raved about it, and I loved it, too. Yes, it's a little sweet, but the balance of flavors is great, especially considering my husband claims to be fearful of soy sauce and doesn't like sesame oil or teriyaki. (I couldn't make this stuff up!) We'll be having this often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orea de Sa'Hana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Fabulous. Simple and tasty. Very much like chinese take out. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dglvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I really love this recipe!! I would have never thought I could make something that tastes as good as something from Chinese take out. This will be on my go-to list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Great flavor. I didn't have Chinese 5 Spice, but it was still great. I used frozen orange juice (undiluted). I will look forward to making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is one of the best chicken dishes I have ever prepared and so easy. I did as others suggested and doubled the sauce and I also doubled the cornstarch and water mixture. I may have simmered it a little to fast, so ended up adding some water to thin and making more sauce. I used orange concentrate but 6 tablespoons instead and no orange peel. Great flavor. Served it over brown rice. It will certainly be on top of my list for easy entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Era, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The reciepe was fantastic and so so easy! I left out the five spice because I didnt have it and also the red pepper flakes. It still came out delish! My kids absolutely loved it!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Guerrero

Displaying results 21-30 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States