Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I liked this a lot. I took another person's suggestion to substitute fish sauce for the soy sauce in the marinade and added some carrots, snow peas and broccoli. (my daughter is gluten free and can't have the soy sauce.) I doubled the sauce and am very glad I did as it was just enough and less wouldn't have been enough. I did not add double the orange zest and still thought it had a good orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Amazeballs! Tastes like takeout from a restaurant! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Yum, yum, yummy! Wouldn't change a thing. I doubled the recipe thinking I'd have leftovers for lunch in my house of 4 men...ya right! I should have quadrupled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Good and much cheaper than take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Very good! Took off one star because I made some changes to the way I cooked the chicken. Chicken breasts cook very quickly and if cooked as long as specified in the recipe will turn rubbery! Stir fried the chicken on medium heat for 2 minutes till no longer white on the outside. This seals the juices in. Then after adding the sauce simmered on medium-low for 15 minutes. Overall though a very good recipe, the flavors were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Yum! great combo of sweet and spicy. Husband and EXTREMELY finicky daughter loved it. I left out the cornstarch step and didn't have 5 spice so subbed with xtra red pepper and a tiny bit of cinnamon, cloves and white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I love this recipe and so did my family. It is a great change of pace from meat and potatoes, but I serve it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bda3145

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I thought it was good, but everyone raved over it so much I had to give it five stars. Particularly since the kids said they would rather have this than order Chinese take-out. The restaurant version of orange chicken is usually breaded and fried so it is a lot less healthy. I did a few changes. Rice instead of white vinegar, fish sauce instead of soy, then soy to serve with it and I served it over brown rice. I served it with cashews and a medley of quickly sauteed sliced carrots, boc choy, savoy cabbage and snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Gave this four stars for being easy & quick, perfect for week night crazies. I did double the sauce because if served over rice, it will get absorbed. (Especially when re-heated as left-overs). I cut the brown sugar down to a big pinch because it was too sweet the first time I made it. If one is sensitive to spice, cut back a wee bit on the heat of the pepper flakes. For anybody wondering: I always make my rice in a rice cooker. I use approx. 1 1/2 Cups water to every cup of rice, and I prefer Jasmine. Hard to mess up when using a rice cooker, I highly recommend for anyone who cooks rice occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I love this recipe just as it is! It's easy and it's mostly things you already have in the house. I serve with sauteed green beans and garlic and white rice. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States