Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I rated this recipe based on ingredients and simplicity. I will be trying for a Sunday dinner twist instead of traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeremiahsMom08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I used about 1/2 the amount of chicken and browned it in Pam, but left the sauce the same. It didn't thicken up for me, maybe because of not having the oil (?). It was delicous, though, and next time I won't even bother mixing in the cornstarch slurry. Only reason I changed at all was to make it more Weight Watchers friendly :) It was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wonderful! The only thing different I did was double the sauce and added sugar snap peas and red peppers. That made this a complete meal. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Absolutely wonderful and super easy. My family likes noodles so in place of the rice, I cooked spaghetti noodles, added to chicken in skillet and tossed. Like others, I did not have the Chinese five spice so I sprinkled in some ginger, curry, and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Tried this tonight....11 year old son and hubby loved it! Took others advise and doubled the sauce recipe. I would have given it five stars, but I didn't find it a "quick and easy" recipe..by the time I measured out all the ingredients, etc., it seemed to take a long time to make. That said, I will definitely make it again. Thx for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was really good! It’s very sweet and spicy with a mild orange taste. I love spicy, but I noticed that my husband kept sniffling. So maybe next time I won't add as much pepper flakes. Also be careful, I was on a roll adding my ingredients and the way its spaced in the recipe above I ended up adding the olive oil in to my sauce. My bad!, So since I was doubling it I added 4 tablespoons in it! I tossed it and was pretty mad at myself. So just a heads up not to do the same thing I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
My husband and I made this dish together and we absolutely loved it! The recipe could have called for a little more soy sauce, but other than that, it was delicious and made our house smell awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This orange chicken is fantastic! I will say that I didn't use plain white rice, I made a side of fried rice instead so that I didn't need sauce for the rice. Also no five spice seasoning, so I made due with a little cayenne pepper like another reviewer did - and it was fantastic. I've made it a couple of times now, and it's going on my permanent recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It's okay. Followed the instructions and the suggestion of doubling up the sauce. It was meh - We might try again but with dredging the chicken in cornstarch first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
As written, this recipe isn't so exciting. The cooking times for the chicken will dry it out, the sauce is on the bland side even with the five spice,and the cornstarch slurry makes it a bit heavy. There is good starting flavor here. I would marinade the chicken in the sauce for at least the our before, or even overnight. Cook up the chicken quickly, and add the sauce. Cut up chicken breast cooks very quickly! I took the chicken out, and cooked up greenbeans in the sauce and served over brown rice. It was quick and filling and did have nice if subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States