Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
It's okay. Followed the instructions and the suggestion of doubling up the sauce. It was meh - We might try again but with dredging the chicken in cornstarch first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
As written, this recipe isn't so exciting. The cooking times for the chicken will dry it out, the sauce is on the bland side even with the five spice,and the cornstarch slurry makes it a bit heavy. There is good starting flavor here. I would marinade the chicken in the sauce for at least the our before, or even overnight. Cook up the chicken quickly, and add the sauce. Cut up chicken breast cooks very quickly! I took the chicken out, and cooked up greenbeans in the sauce and served over brown rice. It was quick and filling and did have nice if subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeakycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Tasted great, will make more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Husband loved it and picky three year old helped make it. I did tone down the spice because I was serving it to the children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was very good. Even my picky family members said they would like it again. My 13 year old son was disappointed that the chicken didn't have a bready crust on it, but loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Alright people- This is IT!!! THE best, fastest, healthiest and CHEAPEST way to have the beloved Chinese-Buffet-style Orange Chicken. I have searched and tried and eaten many other Orange Chicken recipes and they have all either been way too time consuming, breaded and unhealthy or not taste anything like the buffet style. THIS RECIPE satisfies all the needs to making that great orange chicken you love ordering for take out. One of the things I love about this recipe is that you can buy one orange & use 1/2 of it to squeeze out the 2 T of orange juice you need (freshly squeezed orange juice!) and grate the peel of that 1/2 to satisfy the quotient of grated orange peel, then use the OTHER 1/2 of the orange as a garnish by slicing it into rings & decorating the plate! This recipe makes me look AND TASTE like an amazing cook that spent hours in the kitchen when really, I'm sticking to this recipe because it's easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
this Recipe is really good, I followed the other reviews and doubled the sauce but don't know if it was really necessary. The Chicken was delish though !!! definitely cook it again .. txs for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Great flavor - loved it. I doubled the sauce as most people recommended and was glad I did. I think I overdid it on the orange peel because it was a little over-powering, but I think that was my mistake adding to much not really measuring it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPhoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I liked this a lot. I took another person's suggestion to substitute fish sauce for the soy sauce in the marinade and added some carrots, snow peas and broccoli. (my daughter is gluten free and can't have the soy sauce.) I doubled the sauce and am very glad I did as it was just enough and less wouldn't have been enough. I did not add double the orange zest and still thought it had a good orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Amazeballs! Tastes like takeout from a restaurant! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 604) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States