Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I really liked this recipe but because I did not follow it exactly I did not give it 5 stars. Like others I tossed the chicken in cornstarch and then cooked it in oil. Once the chicken was done I poured the sauce over the chicken and let it thicken up which only took about 15 minutes. I also doubled the sauce recipe. I did not have the Chinese 5 spice powder but we did not seem to miss it. What I really liked about the ingredience for the sauce is that they are staples I keep in my cupboard. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
ok so this was amazing ! i got halfway through then realized i had no rice so put about half cup of water in and some spiral pasta and it was a hit even with the fussy 2 year old :) this will def be my go to when i am craving Chinese takeaways SO CHEAP to make too :D oh and i doubled the sauce mixture too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have tried this recipe a few times, I triple the sauce because we like extra. This does take about an hour from start to finish but doesn't most dinner's. I will make this again and again! JJNKC I did add orange marmalade instead of orange rind, worked just a well and had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Parkville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Doubled the sauce. Used rice from my rice cooker. I marinated the chicken in OJ for a few hours before cooking. Family scarfed it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very decent. Fast enough for a weeknight dinner. I didn't have the chinese spice and just used cayenne. I accidentally dumped in way too much so at the end I added just a little heavy cream to cut the heat. The cook times are way off. There is no reason you can't have this started and served in 30 minutes. Like the others I doubled the sauce and I added a bag of stir fry veggies. I also used coconut oil and sesame oil instead of olive oil. I just mixed them together. I also omitted the orange zest and the green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill O'Reilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This has become one of our favorite dinners. Such a great mix of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
My family really loved this recipe. We tend to like things a little on the spicy side so I increased the 5 spice powder and tossed in some extra red pepper flakes. When I made it the second time, I really let the sauce and meat simmer low and slow. It gave the dish that nice warm back of the throat heat. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Tried this tonight. Took the advice to dredge the chicken in cornstarch and this thickened the sauce when it all cooked. Chicken came out soft. The sauce was good consistency, I also doubled the sauce ( sans red pepper flakes) and it was the right amount of sauce. My only problem was that it still came out a bit too spicy for my family. Next time I will use half the red pepper flakes and a little less Chinese five spice, I thought it dominated the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Just made this for a church committee meeting and everyone enjoyed it, but I found the red pepper flakes a little too overpowering. Could have been my mistake in measuring). Since I doubled the chicken and added a package of frozen broccoli and califlower and also added a package of baby carrots, but forgot to double the sauce, it was somewhat drier than should have been. Overall, a good blend of food and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've made this recipe twice. The first time I followed it to a T and it was good. I give it a solid 4 stars as written. The second time I made it, I used leftover boneless chicken thighs that I had marinated in a sesame ginger dressing and grilled the night before. I used rice vinegar instead of white, omitted the orange peel (didn't have any), and added a tablespoon of sweet red chili sauce (maybe Thai Kitchen is the brand?). Wow! It was 5 stars the second time around! It was actually a tad too spicy for my kids, I probably should have omitted the red pepper flakes since the chili sauce had a little heat to it. I had meant to stir fry some veggies before I added sauce to the pan but forgot, so we had snow peas on the side. My husband rates this as a perfect 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States