Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was an excellent dish! I did as recommended in another review and doubled the sauce. Well worth it. I also did not use all of the cornstarch. (I used 1 tsp for the double batch of sauce.) and it turned out just right. I did not have any 5 spice so I replaced it with the cayenne pepper as recommended in another review. OH and I did add one cubed green bell pepper and 1/2 a chopped onion for a bit of crunch. I ended up simmering this dish with the lid on for about an hour due to my husband arriving home later then intentended and the chicken was still tender making this a very flexible dish on time. I use a rice cooker and usually double the water to rice ratio and it turns out perfectly each time. I will DEFINITELY be making this again. My daughter went back for seconds and thats unusual. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very Good, Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I usually use cayenne pepper instead of five-spice powder for a slightly different flavor and more kick. I also add plenty of stir-fry type vegetables like peas, broccoli, red peppers, and bok choy, but then you definitely have to double the sauce to make the flavor spread over the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
THIS IS REALLY DELICIOUS! didnt have the 5 spice so added cayane, cinnoman & ginger instead, i would reccomend using less pepper flake & less orange peel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I rated this recipe based on ingredients and simplicity. I will be trying for a Sunday dinner twist instead of traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeremiahsMom08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I used about 1/2 the amount of chicken and browned it in Pam, but left the sauce the same. It didn't thicken up for me, maybe because of not having the oil (?). It was delicous, though, and next time I won't even bother mixing in the cornstarch slurry. Only reason I changed at all was to make it more Weight Watchers friendly :) It was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Wonderful! The only thing different I did was double the sauce and added sugar snap peas and red peppers. That made this a complete meal. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Absolutely wonderful and super easy. My family likes noodles so in place of the rice, I cooked spaghetti noodles, added to chicken in skillet and tossed. Like others, I did not have the Chinese five spice so I sprinkled in some ginger, curry, and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Tried this tonight....11 year old son and hubby loved it! Took others advise and doubled the sauce recipe. I would have given it five stars, but I didn't find it a "quick and easy" recipe..by the time I measured out all the ingredients, etc., it seemed to take a long time to make. That said, I will definitely make it again. Thx for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hunna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was really good! It’s very sweet and spicy with a mild orange taste. I love spicy, but I noticed that my husband kept sniffling. So maybe next time I won't add as much pepper flakes. Also be careful, I was on a roll adding my ingredients and the way its spaced in the recipe above I ended up adding the olive oil in to my sauce. My bad!, So since I was doubling it I added 4 tablespoons in it! I tossed it and was pretty mad at myself. So just a heads up not to do the same thing I did :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States