Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've made this recipe twice. The first time I followed it to a T and it was good. I give it a solid 4 stars as written. The second time I made it, I used leftover boneless chicken thighs that I had marinated in a sesame ginger dressing and grilled the night before. I used rice vinegar instead of white, omitted the orange peel (didn't have any), and added a tablespoon of sweet red chili sauce (maybe Thai Kitchen is the brand?). Wow! It was 5 stars the second time around! It was actually a tad too spicy for my kids, I probably should have omitted the red pepper flakes since the chili sauce had a little heat to it. I had meant to stir fry some veggies before I added sauce to the pan but forgot, so we had snow peas on the side. My husband rates this as a perfect 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tastebud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Living in Europe, we have given up on going out for Asian food. Went out on a limb last night and tried this, after craving sweet and sour chicken for a couple of weeks. We were not disappointed. This is easy to make and tastes wonderful. I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the sauce (not the cornstarch), and had plenty of sauce for our rice. My picky family enjoyed it so much, there were fights over who would take the leftovers to school for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
A very unique flavor and so very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I did not like this recipe. All I could taste was orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Byer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Wow amazing! Definitely the best homemade orange chicken dish that I have ever tried... And I have tried a few! I used the comment to coat the chicken in cornstarch before and it made such a nice coating. Not the deep fried texture you get from fast food. Also this means you don't need to do the extra step of adding more corn starch because it thickens all by itself. also really easy to make this gluten free- just use GF soy sauce! I also doubled the sauce and the chicken so that I would have left overs. Can't wait to have it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Delicious-I doubled the sauce but didn't double the crushed red pepper. It was sweet for the kiddos but still spicy enough for my husband. If you like General Tso's Chicken this is a nice, unfried version. Making the recipe again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LES09

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was easy and delicious. I made up the sauce earlier in the day and stored in the fridge. I followed it exactly but lightly steamed broccoli at the end. I would make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My family really likes this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadybugBates
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Teenage boys and hubby LOVED this - best ever, they said. I was out of orange juice and orange zest, so I used lemon zest and apple cider. Still had that sweet and spicy flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States