Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Fabulous. Simple and tasty. Very much like chinese take out. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dglvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I really love this recipe!! I would have never thought I could make something that tastes as good as something from Chinese take out. This will be on my go-to list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Great flavor. I didn't have Chinese 5 Spice, but it was still great. I used frozen orange juice (undiluted). I will look forward to making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is one of the best chicken dishes I have ever prepared and so easy. I did as others suggested and doubled the sauce and I also doubled the cornstarch and water mixture. I may have simmered it a little to fast, so ended up adding some water to thin and making more sauce. I used orange concentrate but 6 tablespoons instead and no orange peel. Great flavor. Served it over brown rice. It will certainly be on top of my list for easy entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Era, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The reciepe was fantastic and so so easy! I left out the five spice because I didnt have it and also the red pepper flakes. It still came out delish! My kids absolutely loved it!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
the sugar and the heavy oil make this dish much more red. i need to find good yellow recipes to feed my kids while they're trying to lose weight on kurbo. help me out! www.kurbo.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Laszlo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Oh wow, this was delicious!!!! My only complaint? I didn't double the sauce like other reviewer's recommended!!! I followed the recipe with only 2 exceptions: I didn't have the 5-spice mix so I used cayanne and I didn't put orange peel in (didn't have an orange). My boyfriend LOVED the chicken(and he's picky) as did myself and my daughter (she had it on vegetarian chicken nuggets). This was a big hit in my house and I will def make it again! Great recipe, thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Doubled sauce other than Red Pepper Flakes and Garlic 6 rather than 8. Added carrots about 5 minutes into covered cooking and broccoli about 5 minutes later and it turned out awesome over rice. Needed about an extra tsp of corn starch to thicken it slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This was the perfect recipe for the day I tried it. I'm making this again tonight. I took the MissKori advice and coated the chicken in seasoned cornstarch (salt and pepper). I also removed the chicken after cooking and sprinkled it with sesame seed, then sauteed some bell peppers, then added the chicken and sauce to finish. Served over brown rice. I'm going to try it with quinoa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Love this with chicken and beef. I don't use the Chinese Five spice, just because I don't have it in my pantry or ever use it. Taste great even without it. I serve with fried rice and edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States