Mama's Asian Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Everyone loved it and I got requests to add it to "the list" of things we have again. I did not have 5 spice so winged it with a very small pinch of cinnamon and fresh ground black pepper, which worked well. You have to be very careful with cinnamon, I have ruined plenty of dishes doing that, but not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This turned out really good. Like another reviewer, I substituted cayenne pepper for the Chinese spice. The sauce had a kick, but not too spicy. I could actually taste the orange - just like takeout, but much healthier. I doubled the sauce like most people did (it's a lot of sauce, but you can then drizzle it over the rice and/or veggies you serve it with, plus have some for leftovers). The only thing I'd caution is be careful not to cook the chicken too long in the olive oil. You definitely don't want to pour the sauce over raw chicken, but it doesn't take long for the chicken pieces to overcook and get rubbery, and then they're supposed to cook in the sauce for another 20 minutes, then more time after you add the cornstarch. The chicken was a bit overdone, but the sauce made it still taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Awesome dish! I used cayenne pepper in place of the 5 spice. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbertsville, New York, USA
Living In: Ramseur, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Deliciously Satisfying!! I made this pretty close to the recipe. I didn't have orange juice so substituted lemonade, and didn't have the 5-spice so eliminated. So very good! My husband thought it was a little heavy on the heat, so next time will add a bit less red pepper flakes (for him - I loved the heat) though we ate nearly all of it -- just enough left over for a light snack tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
It was perfect for my family. I had all of the ingredients in my house and it was simply made. very delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Delicious , raves from the whole family . Didn't have 5 spice powder and it still turned out amazing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Very tasty sauce. Picky son ate multiple helpings. I doubled sauce as recommended by others. Also marinated chicken in sauce for about an hour. Didn't add cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I LOVE IT!!! Its so very delicious. It totally hits the spot! I add a teaspoon of red pepper flakes to give it more of a spicy flavor and yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You just have to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookandbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Really delicious just as the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States