Mama's Ambrosia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Delish!! Exactly what I was looking for. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
There are many recipes for this dish but this one is just perfect! I like using the fruit cocktail instead of just pineapple and oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by froglady1965

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made this for Easter dinner. Out of this world delicious! The difference is using sour cream instead cool whip. It was a big hit and for sure a "keeper." I did follow a few reviews and added some red grapes, few cherries, and few pineapple chunks for a more variety of fruit. Although I halved the recipe, I did still used a whole cup of sour cream (it wasn't too much). It was perfect! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is easy to make and is delicious. Only thing I do differently is to add fresh green grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
We substituted Cabot vanilla bean Greek yogurt for the sour cream and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
The sour cream is the only way to go..the coconut provides all the sweetness necessary!! I like to add the nuts right before I serve it...they can get a little bitter. ...super good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I've been hoping to find a recipe for this for several years because it's so good. Found recipe here and made it for a potluck group of about 25. I used Cool Whip. It was delicious, and it vanished quickly. It was a huge success. -- Spryte
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Suddenly, I had a craving for this! Wow, super yummy! I omitted the coconut and nuts but added chopped apples, crushed pineapple, halved cherries!! Loved it even more when I omitted the fruit salad and just added chopped peaches and halved green grapes to the oranges, apples, cherries and pineapple! I also increased the amount of marshmallows and doubled the sour cream because there was so much more fruit I had added. Who knew that the marshmallows melt into the sour cream and make a yummy fluffy texture. Oh, I'm going to be making this a lot!! I have since made this several times and even used canned fruit salad and its still very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
This is completely awesome! was trying to avoid the whip topping versions for something that focused on fruit flavor rather than sugar. Really REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Happy Acres

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Good, even without the marshmallows. I want to try toasting the coconut next time before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Grand Marnier Soufflé

See how to make an airy and impressive but surprisingly simple dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States