Maman's Fresh Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Well I looked at it and then thought " what the h---" so I made it!! I'm telling you it was to die for and oh so easy!! THIS goes to the top of MY list!! I taped it to the cupboard door!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIll Sherstobitoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by becki
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummy. My grandma used to make a fresh strawberry pie sort of like this, so I thought I'd add a few of her tricks. For one thing, I used a regular pie crust, poked it with a fork, and baked it before adding the filling. Graham crackers just seemed a little off. My favorite thing that she did was spread 4 ounces of cream cheese on the warm crust before placing in the halved fresh strawberries. To me this is a MUST! I also threw in some blueberries because I was a little short on strawberries. My husband and I loved this pie. It's a hard one to mess up-- just be patient and make sure that glaze is nice and thick, stirring it constantly!! I posted pictures to show the nice color added by the blueberries. This was a pretty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very disappointing. The combination of a graham cracker crust with strawberry rhubarb was not to my taste. Definitely needs more rhubarb. Added a whole cup and still could not tell there was rhubarb in it. The layer of strawberries on the bottom did very little to enhance the flavor or texture of the pie. Was very easy to make and it did set up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Englewood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My family loved this but I made one change and would make one more next time. I omitted the rhubarb because we don't really like it, and increased the strawberries in the sauce by 1/2 cup. If I made it again, I would bake the crust for 15 minutes to set it up better. It's tough to serve and leaves behind most of the crumbs. Still, we loved it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe.The only thing different I did was add a 10 oz frozen bag of chopped rhubarb.I like the tart taste.I also used prebaked pie shells.Taste just like my mom used to make.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe (for once!) and it was beautiful, tasty, and gone in a flash. Topped with fresh whipped cream, this pie was refreshing and because I could make it ahead and not heat the house by turning on the oven----it's a summertime keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have been making this type pie for many years using just strawberries (no rhubarb) and then topping with whipped topping. Very easy and good but you need a lot of strawberries ( about 2 large boxes). I use whole strawberries standing on end in the shell and cover with the mashed strawberry syrup. Excellent and keeps in refrigerator if you have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe really doesn't have enough rhubarb to give it the zest a real strawberry rhubarb pie should have. It was easy to make and the filling did set up well; but the flavor just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I modified/cheated a bit and used packaged pastry. It turned out to be a phenomenal pie and a huge hit. I am going to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Easy to make and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by openrangeman

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States