Maman's Fresh Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was my first strawberry pie and I was happy to find a recipe that didn't require jello --yuck. I made a crust of granola with almonds and used 1/2 sugar and blueberries instead of rhubarb because that's what I had. Not attractive (so needs whipped cream :) but cut well and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is an easy to make and delicious recipe! The only change I made was adding 2 cups of rhubarb and cutting it down to 1/2 cup of sugar because in my opinion the pie was too sweet, and I enjoy the tartness of rhubarb. Also make sure that the filling is very thick because I don't think I cooked the filling long enough and it was very watery. You'll probably need to upgrade to a 10 inch pie crush to accomodate the extra rhubarb. Other than that, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
LOVE! EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
It did not work for me as a pie it was too crumbly. But I served it in some ramekins. It was sweet and tart at the same time. Easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
doubled the rhubarb (at least) and did not use strawberries in the glaze. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was a fantastic recipe.The only thing different I did was add a 10 oz frozen bag of chopped rhubarb.I like the tart taste.I also used prebaked pie shells.Taste just like my mom used to make.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I modified/cheated a bit and used packaged pastry. It turned out to be a phenomenal pie and a huge hit. I am going to make it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by becki
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummy. My grandma used to make a fresh strawberry pie sort of like this, so I thought I'd add a few of her tricks. For one thing, I used a regular pie crust, poked it with a fork, and baked it before adding the filling. Graham crackers just seemed a little off. My favorite thing that she did was spread 4 ounces of cream cheese on the warm crust before placing in the halved fresh strawberries. To me this is a MUST! I also threw in some blueberries because I was a little short on strawberries. My husband and I loved this pie. It's a hard one to mess up-- just be patient and make sure that glaze is nice and thick, stirring it constantly!! I posted pictures to show the nice color added by the blueberries. This was a pretty pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe (for once!) and it was beautiful, tasty, and gone in a flash. Topped with fresh whipped cream, this pie was refreshing and because I could make it ahead and not heat the house by turning on the oven----it's a summertime keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I have been making this type pie for many years using just strawberries (no rhubarb) and then topping with whipped topping. Very easy and good but you need a lot of strawberries ( about 2 large boxes). I use whole strawberries standing on end in the shell and cover with the mashed strawberry syrup. Excellent and keeps in refrigerator if you have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Fresh Rhubarb Pie

This old-fashioned rhubarb pie is juicy, tart, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States