Mamacita's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
We really liked this recipe. I have had problems finding a recipe for the dish as we like it, and this one just about nailed it. I had to substitute for what I had on hand since I decided to make this last minute, but it turned out great. I didn't have a tomato on hand (don't buy those out of season) so I used some pureed tomatoes and cut back on the broth just a bit to compensate for the additional liquid. And I didn't have saffron on hand so I used a bit of adobo seasoning and some turmeric for color. I used a very large clove of garlic, and I ommitted the cumin. It takes very little of that for us, and the adobo seasoning had plenty for our tastes. And lastly, I used basmati rice, again what I had on hand. I will definitely make this again; I don't need to look any further for recipes! Thanks, Armi, to you and your MIL for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I thought it was excellent, I did not use Saffron or peas and carrots just aded a little more garlic, texture was wonderful, very inexpensive meal, and delicious, Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Delicious recipe, but it defintely needs more water and to be cooked longer. I used vegetable broth, as we are vegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I threw everything into my rice cooker, and let it do its thing. Love my rice cooker!!!! Didn't need the vegetable oil, and I never add extra salt to anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made Mexican Rice III from AR to go with an easy green enchilada casserole I made. It was okay but I was looking for a tastier option. I did not care for the Mamcita's Rice at all. The flavors were too strong and did not have an authentic Mexican flavor at all. I used the turmeric as I didn't have the saffron (don't stock it due to the price). Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We found this quite bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was excellent and easy to customize to your family's tastes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Just like Mexico!!! Second time making I added diced raw carrots and Celery to the water when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Although a hit with my husband, this missed the mark on my account. :( If it weren't for the fact that I already had a jar of saffron handy, I probably would have skipped this one (saffron is VERY expensive!). Being that I'm on an "out of work" budget, I've been on the lookout for dishes that stretch a dollar (or two). Admittedly, for this reason alone, this was quite the disappointment for me. For one, NO WHERE does this recipe state what TYPE of saffron to use. Threads????? Powder???? If threads, how many??? After a CONSIDERABLE amount of time researching equivalents on the WWW, I decided that the measurement here MUST be for powder and that the proper amount would be approximately 5-7 threads per 1/4 teaspoon. Even after adding ~ 12 threads, my rice was not the beautiful golden color I expected (disappointment #2). All in all, this was "OK," but not something I'd make again. Thanks anyways, Armi. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I didn't have any saffron so I used turmeric and it turned out really nice - everybody from my picky teen to my not feeling well mum thought it was just peachy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States