Mamacita's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I’m so pleased to have come across this untried recipe and be the first not only to review it, but to rate it highly. This is a winner. It’s rich, flavorful and colorful, not to mention just plain interesting. A LOT more interesting, in fact, than the typical tomato-based Mexican rice. I stayed true to the recipe save for the carrots, which I only omitted because I don’t care for them. Saffron, the most expensive spice as I know of, has a unique and characteristic flavor and color that really can’t be duplicated, tho’ turmeric would work as a more economical substitute. I made this to accompany Slow Cooker Guisado Verde and Skillet Summer Squash, both recipes also from this site. It was a beautiful and uncommonly delicious meal, in large part because of this beyond the ordinary Mexican rice. Mamacita, no doubt, is a darn fine cook. Thanks, Armi, for sharing her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by eileen
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
WOW this rice is delicious! I subbed some Trader Joe's fire roasted corn for the carrots, due to what I had on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe verbatim. The taste was incredible! Went perfectly with my Adobo steak, onions & peppers, I can't wait to make it again! Gracias Armi y Mamacita :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Although a hit with my husband, this missed the mark on my account. :( If it weren't for the fact that I already had a jar of saffron handy, I probably would have skipped this one (saffron is VERY expensive!). Being that I'm on an "out of work" budget, I've been on the lookout for dishes that stretch a dollar (or two). Admittedly, for this reason alone, this was quite the disappointment for me. For one, NO WHERE does this recipe state what TYPE of saffron to use. Threads????? Powder???? If threads, how many??? After a CONSIDERABLE amount of time researching equivalents on the WWW, I decided that the measurement here MUST be for powder and that the proper amount would be approximately 5-7 threads per 1/4 teaspoon. Even after adding ~ 12 threads, my rice was not the beautiful golden color I expected (disappointment #2). All in all, this was "OK," but not something I'd make again. Thanks anyways, Armi. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I added the peas and carrots in w/ everything else, and used tumeric (Thanks, naples34102 for the idea!) in place of the saffron, b/c I didn't have any. Great flavor and super quick to make. I will def be using this recipe again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Three & 1/2 stars if I could. This was okay, just not enough flavor. Next time I'll puree the tomatoes, add another clove of garlic & see if that helps a bit? It needs something more, I just can't decide what...It was very easy & I did like the texture though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made Mexican Rice III from AR to go with an easy green enchilada casserole I made. It was okay but I was looking for a tastier option. I did not care for the Mamcita's Rice at all. The flavors were too strong and did not have an authentic Mexican flavor at all. I used the turmeric as I didn't have the saffron (don't stock it due to the price). Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Penryn, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
We found this quite bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made as written and I just thought the rice was okay.... it didn't have a lot of flavor in my opinion. I'm glad I tried it though and I thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I thought it was excellent, I did not use Saffron or peas and carrots just aded a little more garlic, texture was wonderful, very inexpensive meal, and delicious, Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I threw everything into my rice cooker, and let it do its thing. Love my rice cooker!!!! Didn't need the vegetable oil, and I never add extra salt to anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States