Mamacita's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I’m so pleased to have come across this untried recipe and be the first not only to review it, but to rate it highly. This is a winner. It’s rich, flavorful and colorful, not to mention just plain interesting. A LOT more interesting, in fact, than the typical tomato-based Mexican rice. I stayed true to the recipe save for the carrots, which I only omitted because I don’t care for them. Saffron, the most expensive spice as I know of, has a unique and characteristic flavor and color that really can’t be duplicated, tho’ turmeric would work as a more economical substitute. I made this to accompany Slow Cooker Guisado Verde and Skillet Summer Squash, both recipes also from this site. It was a beautiful and uncommonly delicious meal, in large part because of this beyond the ordinary Mexican rice. Mamacita, no doubt, is a darn fine cook. Thanks, Armi, for sharing her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by eileen
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
WOW this rice is delicious! I subbed some Trader Joe's fire roasted corn for the carrots, due to what I had on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe verbatim. The taste was incredible! Went perfectly with my Adobo steak, onions & peppers, I can't wait to make it again! Gracias Armi y Mamacita :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made as written and I just thought the rice was okay.... it didn't have a lot of flavor in my opinion. I'm glad I tried it though and I thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Three & 1/2 stars if I could. This was okay, just not enough flavor. Next time I'll puree the tomatoes, add another clove of garlic & see if that helps a bit? It needs something more, I just can't decide what...It was very easy & I did like the texture though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicioso! The reviewers that found this lacking in taste most likely did not add enough salt for their palate. Perfect rice by following the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I served this dish with carne asada tacos and frijoles borrachos picante. I thought it was outstanding, although I did not include the Spanish saffron (expensive) and probably could have added more salt. I used fresh tomatoes from my garden, and I thought the peas and carrots were a nice touch. It was suggested to me that I should try using boullion for more flavor. This was my first attempt at Mexican rice, but I will certainly use this recipe again. Thank you, Armi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
ABSOLUTELY GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecats420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I added the peas and carrots in w/ everything else, and used tumeric (Thanks, naples34102 for the idea!) in place of the saffron, b/c I didn't have any. Great flavor and super quick to make. I will def be using this recipe again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I didn't have any saffron so I used turmeric and it turned out really nice - everybody from my picky teen to my not feeling well mum thought it was just peachy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Although a hit with my husband, this missed the mark on my account. :( If it weren't for the fact that I already had a jar of saffron handy, I probably would have skipped this one (saffron is VERY expensive!). Being that I'm on an "out of work" budget, I've been on the lookout for dishes that stretch a dollar (or two). Admittedly, for this reason alone, this was quite the disappointment for me. For one, NO WHERE does this recipe state what TYPE of saffron to use. Threads????? Powder???? If threads, how many??? After a CONSIDERABLE amount of time researching equivalents on the WWW, I decided that the measurement here MUST be for powder and that the proper amount would be approximately 5-7 threads per 1/4 teaspoon. Even after adding ~ 12 threads, my rice was not the beautiful golden color I expected (disappointment #2). All in all, this was "OK," but not something I'd make again. Thanks anyways, Armi. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States