Mamacita's Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I added the peas and carrots in w/ everything else, and used tumeric (Thanks, naples34102 for the idea!) in place of the saffron, b/c I didn't have any. Great flavor and super quick to make. I will def be using this recipe again and again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
ABSOLUTELY GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecats420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I served this dish with carne asada tacos and frijoles borrachos picante. I thought it was outstanding, although I did not include the Spanish saffron (expensive) and probably could have added more salt. I used fresh tomatoes from my garden, and I thought the peas and carrots were a nice touch. It was suggested to me that I should try using boullion for more flavor. This was my first attempt at Mexican rice, but I will certainly use this recipe again. Thank you, Armi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicioso! The reviewers that found this lacking in taste most likely did not add enough salt for their palate. Perfect rice by following the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Three & 1/2 stars if I could. This was okay, just not enough flavor. Next time I'll puree the tomatoes, add another clove of garlic & see if that helps a bit? It needs something more, I just can't decide what...It was very easy & I did like the texture though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Made as written and I just thought the rice was okay.... it didn't have a lot of flavor in my opinion. I'm glad I tried it though and I thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eileen
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
WOW this rice is delicious! I subbed some Trader Joe's fire roasted corn for the carrots, due to what I had on hand, but otherwise followed the recipe verbatim. The taste was incredible! Went perfectly with my Adobo steak, onions & peppers, I can't wait to make it again! Gracias Armi y Mamacita :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I’m so pleased to have come across this untried recipe and be the first not only to review it, but to rate it highly. This is a winner. It’s rich, flavorful and colorful, not to mention just plain interesting. A LOT more interesting, in fact, than the typical tomato-based Mexican rice. I stayed true to the recipe save for the carrots, which I only omitted because I don’t care for them. Saffron, the most expensive spice as I know of, has a unique and characteristic flavor and color that really can’t be duplicated, tho’ turmeric would work as a more economical substitute. I made this to accompany Slow Cooker Guisado Verde and Skillet Summer Squash, both recipes also from this site. It was a beautiful and uncommonly delicious meal, in large part because of this beyond the ordinary Mexican rice. Mamacita, no doubt, is a darn fine cook. Thanks, Armi, for sharing her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States