Mama Yev's Bread dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
4 stars on behalf of my husband. The Swiss flavor is VERY prominent, so you must love Swiss cheese to love this dip. I put the dip in a baking dish, baked it, skipped the almonds, and just served it out of the baking dish with sliced french bread. My husband says it would have been 5 stars but was "missing a little something."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is a delicious dip! We really enjoyed this one. It doesn't have tons of flavors going on, you really get to appreciate the swiss cheese, it's great. The texture is so creamy and velvety. I baked this as directed, but transferred to my bread bowl and broiled for 5 minutes on a cookie sheet. The bread came out toasty as well. I will make this again, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was very good. I made as written but omitted the almonds because I served it inside the Caraway Rye from this site and I just thought the almonds would be one too many textures. We all enjoyed it and I will make this again, although probably not until the weather is cold. This almost made me think of the fondue we had in Switzerland. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Unbelievably good! I didn't add the almonds. Rich, creamy, delishiousness! It does NOT reheat well, tho, the oil seperates & it gets that curdled look in a puddle of oil, altho the taste is still spectacular. I'll defianely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Absolutely DELICIOUS! I made the recipe as written, but I only had sliced almonds, so I put the mixture in a small casserole dish, (I couldn't find round pumpernikel, just a loaf) and just topped it with the sliced almonds (instead of mixing them in). I baked it for about 15-20 mins., until bubbly, but not browned and served with chunks of the pumpernikel bread. We all (myself, hubby and 2 year old) LOVED this dip. This is such a simple and tasty recipe. I know I will be making this time and time again! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I made this for a Christmas party and it was a huge hit! I thought it was perfect and I doubled the recipe (just in case) I ended up freezing half and I am using the remaining tonight for a small dinner party. I used the breadbowl idea originally and tonight I'll use my fondue pot. I can't say enough about how great it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rabat, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This dip was really good. However, I tried it with different cheeses different nights (mozzarella, cheddar, and swiss) and couldn't really tell a difference in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I made this recipe and was heartily rewarded by everyone enjoying it and asking for the recipe. There was about one spoonful left after the meal and my daughter made sure that it would be saved for her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Delicious! Cheesy and creamy. I warmed the pumpernickel bread in the oven 5 minutes before I took the dip out of the oven so that it was toasy and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Potluck Pepperoni Bread

What's cooking in Charlotte? Suzi's versatile potluck pepperoni bread.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States