Mama Palomba's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Although I have not yet made this, I DID eat it---several servings of it to be exact! Baking Nana featured this at an AR Peeps Christmas get-together. This is something that I WILL be making in the next couple of weeks for something quick to pull from my freezer when things get hectic! I can honestly rate this a 5 Star! Thank you so much, LindaT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Best recipe yet !! - I make a big batch and freeze in smaller containers ( 71 servings at a time ! ). My husband wants me to stick with this recipe from now on ! I agree - works great in Lasagna too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I love this recipe! The first time I made it, I made it as written, but I cut it in half. There was still MORE than enough (I was able to freeze 3 containers of it after dinner was done). I was not a fan of the hot sausage in it, to me it gave it a burnt taste. I made it again tonight, except I substituted ground turkey for the beef and used all mild sausage (my store didnt have any turkey sausage or I would have used that). I also put the meat in the food processor so there werent any huge chunks in there. After making a batch of stuffed shells for my daughter and I, I still had enough to fill 4 dishes to freeze. This sauce is better than anything I have ever bought in the store, and costs way less in the end. And it is versatile, which makes it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Very great base! The sauce was on the thicker side but its an easy adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I followed this recipe exact. I used half of the spaghetti sauce last night to make a Hamburger Helper-kind of skillet meal (I really just cooked elbow macaroni, drained it and folded it into the sauce and sprinkled more fresh parmesan cheese on top) and froze the other half. The boys liked the combination of meats in this one, the hot italian sausage gave the sauce just enough heat without going overboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Super yummy...I used a full pound of extra lean hot Italian chicken sausage out of the casing, cooked and crumbled, omitted the ground beef since I had none. Used four cans of crushed tomatoes with basil, added a diced red pepper and baby bella mushrooms which I cooked along with the onion and sausage. I added everything to the crockpot and it was a wonderful easy and very flavorful, chunky sauce. Served over whole wheat spaghetti and served with a salad. Family enjoyed, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I made this sauce last night for dinner and it was very well received. I must admit, I usually just use jarred spaghetti sauce but I decided to give this a try and I'm so glad I did, it was super flavorful and more importantly, so easy and quick to make. Thanks for sharing Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSteelers1Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Very easy to put together from start to finish. I will say I foobarb'ed with the Italian Sausage links, I used Hot Turkey Polish Sausage instead. Even though it worked out well. I'll have to try to use the italian sausage links the next time. Ours had a bit of a bite to it was, just a little acidic not much just a tad. However, my littliest one said she like "stagetti night" and was prouf of it ;-) Thank you LindaT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States