Mama Kathy's Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Just made this today. Very hearty and tasty. Sprinkled parmesan cheese on top of each serving. I bet it will taste even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot. I made it exactly as written, except that my cans of tomatoes were a little bigger (by .5 oz.) and the spinach was likewise smaller. Also, it didn't say so, but I opted to drain the can of small sweet peas I used. I didn't add more water or tomato sauce, as suggested, and I slightly regretted that. Not that it didn't taste great, but the results came out fairly thick (a "stewp", as a friend of mine suggested I call it). If I make this again, I'll definitely add more liquid. But it was a very flavorful, veggie-rich dish, and I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was great! I used a box of frozen spinach and some frozen peas instead of canned for better flavor. Also used penne pasta because it was what I had on hand. It was wonderful and I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
added ican beef broth instead of bouillion. delicious also added zuchini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
i made this even easier by using my crock pot. i used italian sausage instead of ground beef and a can of white beans instead of peas. i sauteed the sausage and veggies then dumped everything in the crock pot on high for about 5 hrs. then i added alphabet pasta and cooked for 30 more mins. turned out pretty good. i think rinsing the spinach will help decrease the canned taste. i will try that next time i use it. *Update* I made this again but rinsed the canned spinach. It improved the flavor. Glad I have found a use for canned spinach since it is so reasonable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I really enjoyed making this. I was looking for something for a loved one with a cold, but didn't want regular soup. To keep it from drying out, I used two cans of beef broth instead of the bouillon cube and two cans of tomato sauce. Really great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was wonderful!! I had to make a couple of substitutions---I used potato that I had pre-cooked in the micro (because I didn't have time for macaroni to cook) and I didn't add the beef boullion because I didn't have any. Still delicious and a wonderful change from the sauce, chili, taco, etc...that I normally use ground beef for. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
It was ok. I have tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Horn, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Allison looooooved it. It was okay. Maybe next time use Italian sausage and ground beef together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My family loved this. I used diced italian tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes. Also used one can of beef broth instead of the boullion. I didn't measure the maccaroni, think I got too much. It was not like a soup, more like a goulash, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Minestrone Soup

See how to make classic, comforting minestrone soup.

Jamie's Minestrone

See how to make a simple minestrone soup overflowing with fresh veggies.

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States