Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Ok I have made this twice now and I don't know what I'm doing wrong I followed it to a T and still not happy with it it comes out to dense HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I love this recipe as an easy go to Italian bread. I've made it many times. No matter how "wet" or "dry" my flour is or what brand I use, I always need more by usually 1-1/2 cups. As a result I increase the salt accordingly otherwise the bread is very bland. Great recipe for the novice bread baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
5 for bread, less for instructions. If I had never baked bread before I think I might have been lost. I formed 4 smaller loaves after the first rise. I also followed someone's suggestion to mist every 3 mins for the first 10 & my crusts were perfect. Using instant yeast start to finish took just under 2 hours. I baked my smaller loaves 23 minutes & checked internal temp [200] per another reviewers suggestion. I did use kosher salt & probably used a bit more than called for. Over all a winner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was amazing bread! My family could not stop raving about it. Nice crust, with a soft, chewy center. The only change I made was to place a 1/2c of water in cake pan on the bottom shelf to create extra steam. This bread was probably the best I've ever attempted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah DeFries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I used 8 cups of flour and didn't mist with water...otherwise followed directions exactly and had no problems. It was amazing and got fabulous reviews from my family and friends. I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Really good! I was lazy and did not knead the bread at all - just mixed energetically with a spoon for a few minutes and it was still good. It perhaps did not rise as high as it otherwise would have but tasted great! I am on holidays in another country where it is not easy to get nice bread, so it was an extra bonus. Thank you! People's additional suggestions and advice were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I tried this recipe this evening. I also found the directions a bit lacking. I used Gold Medal All Purpose flour and for the three cups of water adding 7 cups of flour is not sufficient to get a stiff dough. I found myself adding more flour trying to get it to stiffen up before I just gave up and used it as is. I used a dough hook with a stand mixer and after adding what looked like one additional cup of flour (total of 8) the dough was still wet and sticky....very hard to handle. The splitting of the dough into three parts I surmised was for 3 separate loaves so I put them in 3 separate bowls. The author did not clarify this point....she just says to put it back in the bowl....which bowl? The one I just pulled it out of? If I put it back in there it becomes one giant mass of dough again. What's the point of that? My breads did not rise much which I attribute to a problem with my yeast. For me the finished product had a very hard shell but the inside was pretty good although bland. I think the recipe should call for more salt added to the dough. I am not saying the recipe is bad....it seems pretty good but the instructions are wanting. Moreover, making good bread seems to be a problem for me. I can make cakes, bananna breads, cookies, and muffins but plain old bread causes me grief. So I think my result is more likely my fault than the authors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Casero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Love it! Comes out perfectly every time! I'm making some right now, it's my go-to for italian bread. This is probably the 5th or 6th time I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni F Tate Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ETremblayLovesToBake
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
A Perfect Italian loaf!!! After reading this recipe I was hesitant due to the lack of ingredients but decided to give it a whirl because of the number of reviews. Let me start by saying my husband thought I bought it at a bakery. With its Crispy flaky outside and it's tender airy chewy insides and just tang for flavor this bread was a perfect accompaniment to the gumbo I made for dinner. Quite honestly it was just perfect by itself 2 slices after my dinner was already eaten. Instructions were followed to the letter and I couldn't be happier. So tired of ending up with dense hockey puck leaves that no one wants the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Easy to follow and fantastic results. It was the first time I really felt I'd gotten a crust "right"! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States