Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Incredible recipe! I bake bread daily, always looking for new recipes to try, and this one is a keeper. Only thing I did differently is I omit the sugar as I don't like sugar in my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Worthing, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Fabulous! This was my first time at Italian bread and my husband said it was some of the best bread he's ever had. The texture was great with a crunchy crust and chewy inside. I made a half recipe and still ended up with two full loafs. Next time, we're going to brush with butter and sprinkle the top with large crystal salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Recipe achieves the look, taste, and feel of italian bread. The only drawback is that I needed more flour to make it into a managable mass. I'll definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Tried using a bread machine the first go-round, but the result was a very dense load. The next time, I stayed true to the recipe and was really pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunsWithScissors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I added some garlic powder and Italian seasoning to this bread and it was absolutely delicious! I've made it two days in a row already and my family can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Glocester, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Super! i usually make this on the weekend for the family to have nice fresh bread and it definately only lasts the weekend. Thanks for the recipe. PS - I mix/knead the dough in my bread maker (on the dough seting) and then do the 2nd rising in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Thank you so much, it's our new favorite. I've even saved the dough in the fridge for 2 days to let the gluten develop and made wonderful pizza dough with it. Oooh, and rolled it out with butter, cheddar cheese and deli ham for breakfast rolls. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Was REALLY wet. didn't think it would come out ok, but was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Excelent, extremely tasty. Had to guess on baking time. For the benifit of those viewing, at 450 degrees it took about 15 minutes give or take to produce a crusty outside, and chewy inside. Very much like you'd find at great Italian restaurants. Top notch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved the recipe. This came out perfect and everyone enjoyed this bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe McFee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States