Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made a loaf at 4 oclock, it was done by 6 and was gone by 7. Absolutely, hands down the best bread I have ever made. I will only make this bread now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I used this recipe as a base and it came out really well. I added a few tablespoons of flax seed, substituted 2 of the cups of all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour, and folded the dough instead of kneading it after every rest. I put a pan of boiling water under the baking sheet, and didn't have to mist the bread while cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Made this the first time this wednesday. Served it with a hearty Italian soup and the company ate a whole loaf. The other two loaves were gone by Friday and I am making more today at my wife's request. Great bread and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This bread is great. The bread is half eaten literally 3 min after it gets out of the oven. Question, has anyone tried making this bread with bread flour instead of all-purpose?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Haven't had a lot of luck with this as a loaf of bread, but I think that's my problem, not the recipe. What this recipe excels at is pizza crust. Let it sit in the fridge for a day or more and it is the best we've had. And we've tried a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I am giving this five stars because I am not a bread maker. I think the bread taste great. However I baked at 450 and found that after 25min smoke was coming out of the oven vent. I looked and found the crust was starting to burn. I took the bread out and found the crust very hard and the internal temp was overn 200 degrees. I want to do this again but I am not sure how to do it with out getting the hard crust. Can anyone help me. Is 450 degrees to hot for this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I love the bread. My wife and I love it and it may become our staple bread in our household. I do wish the directions were a little more detailed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This made the perfect rolls to match with some Italian sausage I had made. The crust was crunchy, and the crumb had a good chew to it. But I had to use a LOT more flour than the recipe calls for to get a stiff dough. I can live with that, though, since I thought 7 cups was a little light for 3 cups of liquid. I was going to give it four stars for that, but the result demanded I give it five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This was delicious and easy, you just need to give it enough time. The bread was nice and salty with a crispy crust. I halved the recipe, made 2 smaller loaves and it was perfect for dinner and a little extra to snack on. I baked it on an ungreased stone. Tonight I'm going to try bread bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Digital Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I added roasted garlic and rosemary. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States