Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I don't think that the 3 cups of water is sufficient, it is veeery dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I just made this bread for dinner. The result? I had to cut into the second loaf :-D I made three loaves and baked them on a baguette pan. They puffed up nicely, had a nice crust and wonderful texture. Definitely will make this again!!! Don't forget the salt. It really does make a better bread! I let the bread rise until doubled, gently punched it down, turned it over and let it rise again. I took it out of the pan, divided it into 3 pieces and rolled into logs to fit the pan. I let that rise until almost double, brushed the top with water, slashed each loaf a few times and baked @375 for ~35 minutes. I also put a small pan of boiling water in the oven before I put in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Man I love this bread!!!! I have made it many times now and agree with Gray who said not to mess with it too much. I always leave it for 90 minutes the first rise, then an hour for the next two rises. But the last time I made it, I didn't knead it very much after either rise. I just mainly punched it down and did the fold thing for about 2 or 3 minutes. What a difference in the flavor!!!!! A little note about the flour, I have tried bleached and unbleached store brands but have found that King Arthur unbleached is by far the best flavor, color and texture. Lastly, I don't turn the bread for fear of losing the rise, and I use a pan full of water and don't mist. When I shape the bread for the last rise, I hold one end, then kind of pull and twist the bread as I lay it down. This gives more of a log shape than the more flattened out shape you otherwise get. I make 2 loaves and bake for 30 minutes. Comes out perfectly every time. By the way, this bread makes the best croutons you will ever eat. Freezes well too. Thank you Christine for a great recipe and to Gray for the advice to leave it alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Like others, I found that one hour was twice as long as it actually takes. My first attempt the bread was way overdone. I actually removed the hard crusts and used it to make holiday stuffing, so at least I didn't waste it. By reducing the cooking time and ignoring the first suggestion to divide it (WHY?) it came out great. Also, the third time I used bread pans and it worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Made this with Slow Cooker Lasagna. 4 out of 5 children loved the bread. Easy and good recipe. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley4jc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemphill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
VERY good. This bread turns out delicious! Very easy (once you figure out the directions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salanco16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I followed this recipe to the letter and I had 3 loaves of good Italian bread, however it says "cook 1 hour" and that turned out to be false, I checked mine at 20 minutes and it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I think this recipe is very good. I have made it quite a few times. I don't always even need the entire 7 cups of flour. I think the difference is that you have to give it the 15 minute rest before adding the salt and the rest of the flour. I have noticed that if I don't do this it needs more flour. I have also made this bread using 100% whole wheat flour with fantastic results. It makes very nice bread for sub sandwiches. This has been our go to bread recipe for a while. I also throw in some ice cubes in the bottom of the oven when I add the bread loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I decreased the recipe to make one loaf. It was smaller than anticipated but exactly the texture and consistency I was looking for. Will definetly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great bread. I'd have given it 5 stars, but I changed what I did based on other peoples' comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States