Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Great Bread! Make sure to mist with water every 5-7 minutes. It makes it crispy on the outside. I used bread flour and it was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I just made this bread and it was delicious! I agree with others that separating the dough after the first rise isn't necessary since it will become one big ball again during the second rise. I also didn't have any cornmeal so I just sprinkled some grated parmesan cheese on the pan instead. I baked it for about 30 minutes but next time I'll check it at 20 or 25 minutes. I can't wait to turn this into pesto bruschetta for Sunday dinner. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotMama16

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
For all the time this takes to make I had hopes of a slightly better finished product. It was good, but I am not sure it's worth the wait. Best straight from the oven, as the next day the crust isn't as crisp. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Incredible. I seriously cannot believe this came out of my kitchen. I made it into large rolls for Italian beef sandwiches, and it was the perfect bread. Super crunchy on the outside, soft and moist on the inside. Mine had an English muffin kind of consistency to it, I think because I didn't want to handle it too much and left some air bubbles in-but we really liked it that way. Instead of misting I used a pan of water underneath as suggested by others. I don't have a bread maker but I used my Kitchenaid mixer. I am so happy with the outcome and will make this over and over again. Thank you a million times for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
I made this bread for the first time today. I love the thick crust on it, it reminds me of the bread from the bakerys when I was a kid. I think it would have been better if I use fresh yeast, the Yeast I had was 6 months past date so it didn't rise as much as it should have but still vary tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Loved it. I'm not a beginner bread-baker but I'm not very experienced either. I used my KitchenAid dough hook for the majority of the kneading so that made it pretty easy. I let it rise 3 times as directed. However, I did not mist it. I have used steam baths in the past but last time my bread got CRAZY crusty so I tried without anything this time. It felt really hard coming out of the oven but softened up as it cooled. I'm missing that crispy crust a little but it still tastes amazing. The texture is terrific. Yayyy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was my first time trying to make bread and it was great.......I read a lot of the reviews to get a sense of what needed to be done and it was most helpful...I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Have made this bread numerous times and it's always a hit. My only advice is to add a little more salt than called for and don't bother with separating into loaves until the last rise. I put baking sheets with loaves on top of heating pad to facilitate rising
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
The directions were a little confusing. I added an addition cup of flour to get the correct consistency, don't divide the dough while it is in the bowl, it just amassed back together and only bake at 400 for 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Time consuming. I make two large loaves. Very good! I serve it with Lidia's Spag and Meatballs or Lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States