Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
The bread recipe is pretty standard as far as what goes into making bread. I had to add much more flour than what is given in the recipe but after several additions (lost track of just how much flour is needed - probably more like 8 1/2 cups) I got it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I am a novice baker. This is my 2nd attempt at making bread.The bread came out fantastic. Five stars. It reminded me of the bread I used to get in Brooklyn. However, the instructions were very sketchy. I used common sense, and it came out fine. Thanks for making me feel like a baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Easy recipe. Good bread. I make small loaves for hero's . I only spray them one time after five minutes and I keep a water pan in the bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Vito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Baking this bread at 450 degrees F was a disaster. The second time, I baked it at 350 degrees for 55 minutes and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I moved to NC from NY and couldn't find real Italian bread down here. I came across your recipe and YOU nailed it! AMAZING! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This make a great Italian bread. My suggestion for anyone who is not an experience bread maker is : Make your first loaf with 4 cups of flour. This gives you a good size loaf. When making any bread, do not add all of the water called for at first. I started with 1 cup of warm water into which I had proofed my yeast with 1 tsp sugar. (If your yeast is fresh, I still wait 5 minutes till I see bubbles form on the top; with instant yeast this happens very quickly.) Add the yeast/water to the flour and mix with a wooden spoon or by hand. Keep adding a little bit of water after that at a time and keep mixing until the entire flour mixture sticks together. You want all the flour in the bowl and for the mixture to stop sticking to your hand. If you wind up with too much water, add more flour till the dough is no longer sticky but feels smooth and satiny to your hand. Do not overKnead or tough can become tough. Coat with olive oil and then put plastic wrap on the dough and cover with a towel. Let Rise. Punch down after an hour. No need to take out of bowl. Let it Rise again, 30 min or so; Remove from bowl, gently flatten into rectangle, fold bottom third up, top third down, and then fold in the left and right edges to form a loaf. Turn over and let rise once more. Then bake on baking tray. I put water in oven and you can also mist it but its not necessary. The basic recipe is great. You just have to play with the technique that works best for you. MineHad a great yeasty taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I've been making bread of over 40 years. Way too much yeast. Way too little flour. And the divide into 3 several times for no reason whatsoever. The recipe would be closer with 2 cups of warm water rather than 3. There is so much yeast that it works way to fast to allow this mixture of ingredients to rise properly. I read one review that was accurate regarding that issue where the user had dough that was flat and spread out over the pan rather than high like a loaf of bread. If you follow this recipe you will not have bread or anything resembling bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Baking on a pizza stone makes this bread even better. Just let it rise on parchment paper that has been sprayed with cooking spray and sprinkled with semolina flour. Place parchment paper directly on preheated pizza stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Sooo delicious! So easy! I made this today for the first time. I followed the suggestions to bake for 20 minutes and it needed just a few minutes more. Thank you! Made this bread again today, again a tasty winner! My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone is still raving about it. I actually cut the recipe in half and made one loaf. Best bread recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States