Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Thank you Mama D! So easy! I also tried it with a cup of sour dough starter in place of the yeast and it also turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Loved this bread. The outside was crispy, inside soft and chewy - oh so good. Don't be afraid to kneed in more flour, I used an extra 2 cups to get the correct consistency. This should not be sticky, it should be a nice smooth dough. I also cooked with a pan of water in the bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
It took me more than a few tries to get it right but WOW is this good! I haven't been able to find anything even close to the Italian bread I grew up on in NJ since I moved to KY, so I realized I would have to start making it myself. My winning combo was reducing the amount of water to about 1.5 cups and that took me about 5 cups of flour to get the stiff dough. Started off in my stand mixer with the whisk attachment until it was thick enough for the dough hook. Sprinkled flour when I was kneading in between risings to keep dough from sticking. I think my baking time was 25 - 30 minutes. I put a pan of water on the bottom rack instead of misting. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Couple things on this one - first, as someone earlier mentioned, only put the cornmeal under the bread -- my fan is still going on high since the whole house smoked up from the burning cornmeal on the cookie sheets! Second, I'm not exactly sure of the cook time - the top of the recipe says 1 hr. but at 450 that sure seems like a long time. I took them out after 20 min., since they sounded done. Haven't cut into them yet, maybe they needed to go longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This was my first attempt at any type of bread and I was very pleased. I did exactly as the recipe was written with the exception of only making two round loaves. We enjoyed it greatly!! A definate keeper and now I won't have to run to the bakery whenever I want Italian bread. Woohoo!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Perfect. Best Italian bread I've ever had. I followed the cooking tips on "Endorphins'" review listed on the front page, to make a very tasty, texturally outstanding bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was not sure about proofing yeast, it has been a long time since baked. But next time will be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Good flavor. I didn't give it 5 stars because it's a very sticky dough to work with and I used the the stand mixer with the dough hook too. Also didn't rise as high as I would have liked. The yeast may have "lost steam" by the time it rose two times prior! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austinville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Very easy with few ingredients. Excellent taste. I found the dough to be a very soft dough, and after the third rising while it was formed into "footballs", it seemed to spread out, rather than hold it's shape. It was so easy, I will make it again, but will re-think how to form it for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States