Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I had a ball making this bread and it came out delicious! I didn't change much, if anything, to the recipe or the way I baked it. It was delicious! I brought them to a wine and cheese party and it was a big hit. I also made my own seasoned oil to serve with it. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etrodrig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I wasn't a big fan of this recipe. I added 9 cups of flour as some reviews mentioned and still couldn't get the right texture. Also, I felt there was a lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
it seemed simple enough, but as a bread-making novice, i had to unearth my baking textbook from culinary school to read up on bread making technique, because the instructions were rather unclear. The resulting bread, either as a result of my inexperience, or the recipe itself, was dense and heavy... I didn't mind it, (especially dipped in some seasoned olive oil) but my husband thought it was too dense. I'm willing to try it again, but the hubby would rather I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Love the bread. I added some different herbs (sage, basil, oregano) and chedder cheese to be creative. The only thing was the directions-- rise times, etc. I also skipped the misting and flipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blkroses55

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Wonderful! Just made one loaf (divided ingredients by three). Let it rest, did one rising, and then the rising on the baking sheet. Baked at 450 for about 20 minutes and it was great--so easy--a new keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Good basic recipe. I only had to bake for 25 minutes though. I tried putting a ramekin of water in with the bread but it still got a little too crusty for me. Next time I'll try misting it. Overall, fairly easy and less work than some other breads I've made. I also cooked mine on a SilPat and didn't mess with the cornmeal. I ended up using about 2.2 lbs of flour (8 c.) plus some for dusting/kneading
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The recipe was easy and produced some nice loaves of bread. They came out nice and dense which was exactly what I was looking for. However the cooking time listed in the instructions is a little off. By 30 minutes in the oven they were very brown and done. Also, as someone else wrote in their review, any extra corn meal not directly under the bread started burning. If the bread did take an hour to bake, the kitchen would have been full of smoke. Overall an easy recipe for some nice heavy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
5 stars for taste, 3 for the directions. delicious bread! but... if you add the sugar and yeast to all three cups of water, it doesn't proof right. that leads to problems with the bread rising. the second time i learned to proof it in 1/4 c of water and add the rest of the water later. turned out much better. also, 'knead until as soft and smooth as a bambino's behind'... that really doesn't help me all that much. i went with kneading for 10 minutes. if anyone has any suggestions for a different kneading time, i'm all ears!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States