Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I have made this bread twice now and its been a big hit. I had never made homemade bread before so I followed the directions pretty closely. I didn't use the full 7 cups of flour and the baking time was way off for my oven, 30 minutes was plenty. I didn't turn the loaves while in the oven either because I used loaf pans (stoneware).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arm90

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I am new to the art of bread baking and this recipe made me feel like a masterbaker!!! I added an egg wash and sesame seeds HAZZAH!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarasarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Good recipe but probably not one for beginners. Since the dough is a little tricky (if making by hand). Very thick crispy crust just perfect for cleaning up any gravy left on your plate! This Italian and her Italian fiance give it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meepandsnooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I tried this recipie because I never made bread before ! She's right ... it is easy ...and delicious ! When I try something that had no problems and no left overs .... that's great in My book ! Thank you for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Amazing! I followed this recipe EXACTLY up until rolling it into your loaf. I rolled then I covered on my pan and froze overnight. Pulled out mid-afternoon the next day and let rise, and baked, OMG, OMG! I couldnt stop eating it! THEN by the following morning I expected semi-dry bread, but it was still crazy moist, and made perfect toast! ! I will be making this many more times! LOVE this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good bread. I added a tablespoon of olive oil just cause I like a little fat in my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I divided into 4 loaves before baking. It made a dense loaf with a crisp crust. My family likes this type bread so we were very happy with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I think it would be helpful to know how much flour you add after the initial 4 cups. This turned out heavy, really didn't rise very wellbut a very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATESJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Easy 2 make! Luv the humor in the directions:-) Tips: Make a canoe out of foil so dough doesn't spread. In travel section of Wal-mart/Target are spray bottles which is handy to create a crunchy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsScarlettOhara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I had a ball making this bread and it came out delicious! I didn't change much, if anything, to the recipe or the way I baked it. It was delicious! I brought them to a wine and cheese party and it was a big hit. I also made my own seasoned oil to serve with it. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etrodrig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States