Mama D's Italian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Baking directions not clear no time is stated for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I worked on this all day. First batch didn't rise, now second batch has not risen. What a waste of a bag of flour. I had really high hopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made a loaf at 4 oclock, it was done by 6 and was gone by 7. Absolutely, hands down the best bread I have ever made. I will only make this bread now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I used this recipe as a base and it came out really well. I added a few tablespoons of flax seed, substituted 2 of the cups of all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour, and folded the dough instead of kneading it after every rest. I put a pan of boiling water under the baking sheet, and didn't have to mist the bread while cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Made this the first time this wednesday. Served it with a hearty Italian soup and the company ate a whole loaf. The other two loaves were gone by Friday and I am making more today at my wife's request. Great bread and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This bread is great. The bread is half eaten literally 3 min after it gets out of the oven. Question, has anyone tried making this bread with bread flour instead of all-purpose?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Haven't had a lot of luck with this as a loaf of bread, but I think that's my problem, not the recipe. What this recipe excels at is pizza crust. Let it sit in the fridge for a day or more and it is the best we've had. And we've tried a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I am giving this five stars because I am not a bread maker. I think the bread taste great. However I baked at 450 and found that after 25min smoke was coming out of the oven vent. I looked and found the crust was starting to burn. I took the bread out and found the crust very hard and the internal temp was overn 200 degrees. I want to do this again but I am not sure how to do it with out getting the hard crust. Can anyone help me. Is 450 degrees to hot for this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I love the bread. My wife and I love it and it may become our staple bread in our household. I do wish the directions were a little more detailed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This made the perfect rolls to match with some Italian sausage I had made. The crust was crunchy, and the crumb had a good chew to it. But I had to use a LOT more flour than the recipe calls for to get a stiff dough. I can live with that, though, since I thought 7 cups was a little light for 3 cups of liquid. I was going to give it four stars for that, but the result demanded I give it five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States