Mama Corleone's Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
What fun, Surfwrench! This isn't how I typically make sausage and peppers but I couldn't resist trying this with such a cute and catchy name and I got a kick out of how you came up with the recipe! I used rigatoni rather than spaghetti because I didn't remove the sausage from the casings, so I needed a sturdier pasta. I just cut the links into manageable sections. I added a little red wine and used fresh herbs rather than dried. At the end, I couldn't resist throwing in some chopped, fresh San Marzano tomatoes from my garden. Hubs said he likes the way I usually make sausage and peppers better, but when I reminded him that the whole point was to try something different, he agreed this was very good in its own right! I admit my own Italian bias, but beyond that I have to say you can't go wrong with this recipe - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I wedge a large yellow onion and saute it with the peppers, and add more garlic, seasoned salt, fresh ground pepper, and a shake of red pepper flakes. There needs to be enough olive oil to coat the pasta well. My two Grandsons like it done with Polish Sausage, too. This is what my Brother-in-law always wants when he comes for dinner. A tossed salad and garlic bread makes a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I tried this one last night and my family LOVED it!! My Italian husband accused me of stealing the recipe from his mother! The only change I made was I added a large can (drained) of diced tomatoes to it. I am definitely saving this one as a family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
Surfwench is my mommy, and this dish is delicious!! I demand that she makes it every time I come over for dinner, and it gets better every time! I just signed up for my own account on allrecipes.com and this is the first recipe I'm adding to my own recipe box : ) Thanks mom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I've got to be honest, I got major brownie points with my hubby just for texting him that I was making a Godfather-inspired meal for dinner. I did make some changes (2-3 cloves of garlic instead of 1, added a can of drained italian-style diced tomatoes, a splash of red wine, 1 chopped small onion, multi-grain penne instead of spaghetti, and extra sausage cut into bite-sized pieces), but I don't think any of these changed the character of the dish too much. It was tasty and filling, and while he ate, hubby picked up an Italian accent as he told me about movie references to food in The Godfather. I guess that means it was a success - I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This dish was hearty without being "heavy." Such a change of pace from tomato-based pasta dishes. The only thing we did different was to remove the casings completely and cook the sausage crumbled. That way, every inch of the pasta absorbed the sausage flavor. Will make again, and again...and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This was very good - I used hot turkey sausage and it was delicious while it cut a lot of the fat from the original recipe. I got raves and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
delicious! Hubby & have wanted to try a "sausage & pepeprs" recipe, but were skeptical since neither one of us were real pepper fans. I only used two peppers, an orange & a red. Used at least three times the garlic. Used 5 sausage links, removed the casings and cut into bite size chunks. Cooked covered on med with 1/4 cup water for 10 minutes. Transfered to a plate & used the grease/water mixture in the skillet for the peppers. I also added about 1 cup chopped onion. I think we will add a green pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I was thrilled when I found this recipe, as my husband and I both love Italian sausage and pasta. I prepared it exactly as the recipe stated. It was very quick and simple to prepare. I will be serving this dish often. Thank you Mama Corleone for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was fairly simple to put together and tasted very good! The colorful peppers really add to the dish. I recommend this one for a nice weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Stoykovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States