Mama Corleone's Sausage and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I cooked it but didn't eat it. (I went to sleep, did not choose to not eat) The family thought it was pretty good though. I accidentally added an onion since I just naturally assumed an onion would be involved with S&P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Let's be honest...you can't go wrong with peppers ad sausage. This is a classic and always a welcome dish at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skaparker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Like so many others, this recipe was inspirational! I used the spaghetti base with the sausage but sauted sweet onion, red, yellow, and orange peppers in evo and butter with the meat. After 3-4 min on medium heat add about 1/4 a cruet of Good Seasons Italian dressing and let simmer. The sauce thickens nicely and flavors everything-- toss in the pasta and voila. My husband ate heartily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
What a catchy name! For this meal I used 1 lb. of Rigatoni pasta and mild Italian sausage. I used a medley of red, yellow orange and green bell peppers, 3 cloves of garlic, and a handful of fresh herbs. While cooking I added a splash of red wine and two Roma tomatoes I had sitting in the refrigerator. I let it simmer a while before it was done. This was a mild tasting and hearty meal. Right before serving I added freshly grated parmesan cheese which balanced its’ sharp cheesy taste with the mild sausages and peppers! I also serve with a fresh homemade, “Jo’s Rosemary Bread,” also from this site. This was fun and easy to make with delicious results! Thank you for sharing this Godfather-inspired meal with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
It was okay, but awful plain. Pasta was kind of dry. Needs a little sauce or oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinLovin
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was very good! I did add or change some things, but I think that's what fun about recipes. Finding a good one, then making it your own. I know some people don't like it when you change recipes, but I think many good cooks do this to fit their own tastes. I used Smoked Turkey Sausage that I sliced and sauteed in olive oil and a splash of Worcestershire sauce instead of the Italian Sausage. I added a large sweet onion, sliced into strips to saute with the peppers. I also added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of chopped portabella mushrooms. I tossed rainbow rotini pasta (spinach & tomato enriched pasta) into the mixture after everything was cooked, heated for about 10 minutes more and then added about 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella, stirring until the cheese meted just before serving. I didn't drain the canned diced tomatoes so the pasta absorbed the liquid, adding even more flavor. Family thought this was very good and I will be making it again and again! Thanks for the recipe Surfwench!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinLovin

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Amazing! I wasn't sure about taking the sausage out of the casing but man what a difference it made! Def get good Italian sausage, the flavor added alot. I added a can of italian diced tomatoes and since we love spicy food added some red pepper flakes. This is our new favorite dish and my hubby has asked for it every night since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Easy and delicious! I used plain pork sausage because I didn't have Italian sausage, and it was still good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Good recipe. Quick and easy. I used hot Italian sausage, 2 peppers, added an onion, and served over penne pasta. Next time I will add a can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Good Base Recipe, different way to make sausage and pepers but we liked it. Needs a little bit more flavoring but still very good.. did follow other suggestions and added diced drained canned tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Mini Penne with Sweet Peppers and Cheese

Sautéed onions and peppers are tossed with penne pasta, fresh basil, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States